It’s official, Judas Priest will finally be inducted into the Rock N’ Roll Hall of Fame, despite the band placing sixth in the fan vote.

Judas Priest will receive the Musical Excellence Award at the event, which will also honor EminemDolly PartonDuran Duran Lionel RichiePat BenatarEurythmics and Carly Simon in the Performers category.

The award for Musical Excellence — which was originally titled the Sidemen category when it debuted — is given to artists, musicians, songwriters and producers whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music…

Judas Priest is the second band to receive the award for Musical Excellence; the E Street Band was the first. Last year, late Ozzy Osbourne and Quitet Riot guitarist Randy Rhoads was one of the recipients of the Musical Excellence Award.

According to the Hall Of Fame, Judas Priest members that will get inducted include current members Rob Halford (vocals),Ian Hill (bass),Glenn Tipton (guitar) and Scott Travis (drums),along with former members K.K. Downing (guitar),Les Binks (drums) and late drummer Dave Holland.

“Wow, this is so exciting — at last. At last, you know?” Halford told Billboard after receiving the news before the public announcement. “And, glory hallelujah, there’s another metal band in the Hall Of Fame. That’s the blessing we’ve all been waiting for.”

The induction ceremony will be held on November 5th 2022 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. It will air at a later date on HBO and stream on HBO Max. There will also be a radio simulcast on SiriusXM‘s Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Radio channel 310.

Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame 2022 inductees:

Performer Category:

Pat Benatar
Duran Duran
Dolly Parton
Lionel Richie
Carly Simon

Musical Excellence Award:

Judas Priest
Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis

Early Influence Award:

Harry Belafonte
Elizabeth Cotten

Ahmet Ertegun Award:

Allen Grubman
Jimmy Iovine
Sylvia Robinson

Fan poll results:

  1. Duran Duran
  2. Eminem
  3. Pat Bentar
  4. Eurythmics
  5. Dolly Parton
  6. Judas Priest
  7. Carly Simon
  8. Lionel Richie
  9. Devo
  10. Kate Bush
  11. Rage Against The Machine
  12. Dionne Warwick
  13. A Tribe Called Quest
  14. New York Dolls
  15. Beck
  16. MC5
  17. Fela Kuti

Judas Priest was previously on the ballot for Rock Hall induction in 2020, but failed to receive enough votes to make that year’s class.

Having been eligible for induction since 1999, Priest was also on the ballot for the 2018 class of the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame, but was ultimately left out of the inductee list.

Judas Priest recently wrapped up their 50 Heavy Metal Years North American tour on April 13th in Ontario, Canada. The band is currently working on recording their next album and guitarist Glenn Tipton has described it as both “what every fan would want to hear,” as well as, “a bit experimental.”

24 Responses

  1. More importantly, will the band members wear leather-and-spikes tuxedos at the induction ceremony? Will Rob Halford step up to the podium riding a Harley?

Leave a Reply