kotzensheehanport The Winery Dogs, a new project featuring drummer Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Adrenaline Mob), bassist Billy Sheehan (Mr. Big, Talas) and guitarist/vocalist Richie Kotzen (Mr. Big, Poison) posted a video for their new song Elevate which can be seen below.

The song comes off the band’s self-titled debut album, which will be released in Japan on May 15th through Victor Entertainment.

Regarding how the band got its name, Portnoy said, “It was Richie’s name. We had a list of about 50 names. I had about 10 that I preferred over The Winery Dogs, but you know, when you’re in a band, you have to give and take and choose your battles, and Richie really, really loved this band name. So, you know, it was, like, ‘OK.’ A name is a name. If you feel that strongly about it, then go for it. So that’s who we are.”

The Winery Dogs track listing:

1. Elevate
2. Desire
3. We Are One
4. I’m No Angel
5. The Other Side
6. You Saved Me
7. Not Hopeless
8. One More Time
9. Damaged
10. Six Feet Deeper
11. Criminal
12. The Dying
13. Regret

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

12 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Todd on

    Billy’s playing is unreal. I’m still interested to hear what Jon Sykes comes out with.

  • Steve on

    Awesome bass playing from Billy. I’m looking forward to hearing the rest of the album.

  • MUNIR on

    whohohoho …. its rock………. All Star here……

  • Dave on

    Guys, I was totally blown away by this. You are now my favorite new band. WHEN is the US release??? WHEN is the US tour? Please come to Philly!

    • Eddie on

      US release July with dates TBA

  • RobRhodes on

    Words can not describe how good this is and how much i’m looking forward to the album – but honestly, how old are the people commenting here? Kotzen is more Hughes than Cornell and how can you think this sounds like the Foo Fighters?

Leave a Reply