Sammy Hagar & The Circle have surprised fans by dropping the final music video from their massively popular new album Lockdown 2020.  Their music video for their cover of David Bowie’s classic Heroes features a headline grabbing salute to the true heroes of 2020 via an interactive newspaper called the Lockdown Times.  
“When we started the Lockdown @Home sessions, we had no idea nearly a year later that we’d still be in this situation. Recording the song and creating the music video for Heroes gave us a chance to tip our hats to all the Frontline workers on every level our of communities,” Sammy Hagar explained. “From the doctors and medical workers, to the grocery stores, police, firefighters, scientists, and more who’ve put their own lives on the line to do their jobs and help others.  For us, their contributions kind of sum up the best of 2020.”
Additionally, the band will donate all proceeds from the song Heroes will to food banks and relief efforts nationwide.
You can buy and stream the album and new track Heroes here. Watch the video below. if you cannot view, try refreshing the page.
Sammy Hagar & The Circle’s Lockdown Sessions began in March, when the COVID-19 shelter-at-home order went into effect. With time on their hands and their upcoming tour in limbo, the band’s legendary drummer Jason Bonham challenged his bandmates Sammy Hagar, Michael Anthony and Vic Johnson to record a warmup jam they’d been playing backstage before concerts for several years.  Equipped with iPhones and their respective instruments, they each laid down their individual tracks from the den, music room, closet and even showers of their homes, and Funky Feng Shui and the band’s Lockdown Sessions were born. 
“When we first start doing these lockdown sessions, it was only meant to stay in touch with the fans until we could get back out on the road again,” Sammy Hagar explained. “But as the weeks and months drew on, it also became a fun way to keep the band together, musically and creatively.”
Over the next eight months, their Lockdown Sessions became a hit with critics and fans alike, producing 10 tracks and reaching an online audience approaching 30 million. The sessions gave the band the opportunity to throw down raw and raucous compact covers of classic hits that they’d jammed to backstage but never planned to record, including The Who’s Won‘t Get Fooled Again, Bob Marley’s Three Little Birds, AC/DC, Whole Lotta Rosie and more [track list below].  When plans for an album came to fruition around the holidays, the band came together to record one more track, a cover of David Bowie’s Heroes which they’d offer as an instant download or single purchase. “With the addition of ‘Heroes’,  it made sense to help those who are struggling from the effects of Covid-19.  It probably wouldn’t have happened without it.”
Lockdown Sessions tack listing:

1. Funky Feng Shui
2. Won’t Get Fooled Again (The Who)
3. Good Enough (Van Halen)
4. Three Little Birds (Bob Marley)
5. Whole Lotta Rosie (AC/DC)
6. For What It’s Worth (Buffalo Springfield)
7. Keep A-Knockin’ (Little Richard)
8. Right Now (Van Halen)
9. Don’t Tell Me What Love Can Do (Van Halen)
10. Sympathy For The Human (Sammy Hagar & The Wabos)
11. Heroes (David Bowie)
Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

1 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • MikeyMan on

    An awesome version of this song.
    I’m really diggin’ the thumping rhythm section.
    A super cool video as well, great concept.
    I love the headlines & stories mixed in with the band performances.
    Just got my CD in the mail on Saturday.
    Sammy & The Circle rock!

Leave a Reply