georgelynchmsweet.jpg As previously reported, two of hard rock’s most notable figures have partnered up for a new project. Iconic vocalist/guitarist Michael Sweet of Stryper and legendary guitarist George Lynch of Lynch Mob/Dokken have teamed up to form a new supergroup Sweet & Lynch. Joining them on this new musical adventure is bassist James Lomenzo and drummer Brian Tichy. The band will be releasing their debut album Only To Rise in North America on January 27th, 2015 via Frontiers Music SRL. Sweet & Lynch recently launched a pre-order for the new album via PledgeMusic. The pre-order features various bundle packages for fans and is live at pledgemusic.com/projects/sweetlynch.

“When I was approached to help put together an all-star lineup, instantly I thought of George Lynch,” explains Michael Sweet. “George is one of the most talented guitarists out there and a ‘bucket list’ player for me. George wrote riffs/basic ideas and I wrote melodies, lyrics and arranged and completed the songs. I knew that we would compliment each other’s style. When you add the amazing rhythm section of Brian Tichy and James Lomenzo, you just can’t go wrong with this line-up. It really is a special project and I’m honored to be a part of it!”

From the opening notes of The Wish to the drum solo finish on the album-closer Only To Rise, it is evident that this musical partnership between Michael Sweet’s unmistakable voice and George Lynch’s signature guitar tone has yielded incredible results. Songs Like A Dying Rose, Me Without You and Strength In Numbers showcase the diversity that permeates throughout the entire album. Sweet & Lynch released a lyric video for the 9/11 inspired track September which can be viewed below.

An EPK featuring Michael and George discussing this new project can be seen below.

Only To Rise was produced by Michael Sweet who also produced the last Stryper album, No More Hell To Pay, which received massive fan praise and critical acclaim alike.

The track listing for Only To Rise is:

1) The Wise
2) Like A Dying Rose
3) Love Stays
4) Time Will Tell
5) Rescue Me
6) Me Without You
7) Recover
8) Divine
9) September
10) Strength In Numbers
11) Hero-Zero
12) Only To Rise

Plans are currently being worked out for Sweet & Lynch to play a few live shows in the Spring of next year, making this different than any other supergroups that record together but never play live. More information will be announced in the near future. If the past records of these four musicians are any indication, no fan will want to miss these shows.

Sweet & Lynch on the web:



34 Responses

  1. I, for one, am just fine about this “project”. I’m kind of sick of those that need to crap on it and other “supergroups” if you want to call them that, your own opinions I guess. Michael Sweet is great, lets start there. The person that said they are ‘old and washed up’, I guess hasn’t listened to damn thing M. Sweet has done in the past few years! Unlike some other older vocalists, (no names) he still has it, 100% Dude has released a new Stryper album, a solo album, Live Stryper album, autobiography, Stryper Tour, Sweet/Lynch album, and is currently writing for next Stryper album to be recorded in January. I think that is F-ing great!
    These are the bands/performers that I want to listen to. NOT just listening to what they did in 1984, but still active. Eddie you have been knocking some of these projects, even though you put one together! I don’t get that. I’d rather listen to Sweet/Lynch or Rated-X with Appice and Turner than ANY of these new bands that are out there. There might be some decent new stuff out there, but for the most part, we all reach for our “British Steel” CD half way listening to some Seether album.
    I’m going to keep enjoying MY rock legends as long as they stay at it!!!!

    1. I am not knocking the projects or the artists doing them, but many of them are not that good and don’t even make it to a live show. The rock world is so diluted right now. I have artists literally with press people battling each other for the same musician to promote different albums. I just think some of them, not all, are just money grabs of names thrown on a sheet with zero chemistry or future. But that’s up to consumers to decide. I have not heard this one yet and haven’t heard many I think are truly great beyond The Winery Dogs, and I am NOT saying that because I had a hand in it. I also liked KXM but sadly they were all on to other things pretty much the next day and no live gigs.

Leave a Reply