Judas Priest have released a statement stating that they have changed their minds, and have decided to tour as their usual quintet, as opposed to a quartet.

The band writes “Hello metal maniacs…given all that has recently evolved and transpired we have decided unanimously as a band to continue our live shows unchanged with RobIan [Hill, bass], Richie [Faulkner, guitar], Scott [Travis, drums], Andy and Glenn[Tipton, guitar] joining us whenever he’s able…so see you all soon as we forge ahead celebrating 50 massive heavy metal years of Judas Priest together!”

Guitarist Andy Sneap, who was touring with the band, released a statement after learning the band would be returning to the road as a four-piece, stating that he was “disappointed,” but “he respects their decision.” He added, “This always was a temporary situation, and like I’ve said before, I’ll always help the band any way I can, and that applies going forward also.”

Judas Priest are scheduled to return to the road for their 50 Heavy Metal Years, with special guests, Queenrÿche. The tour is set to begin on March 4th in Peoria, Illinois and wind down on April 13th in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. 

The band’s entire itinerary can be viewed, here.

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

13 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • jeff weaver on

    Ok so this band has been around for 50 years and they make one hairbrained decision and y’all are gonna crucify them for it?

  • RTunes68 on

    Somewhere right now, Vinnie Vincent is saying to himself, “Well, if Judas Priest changed their mind and brought Andy Sneap back into the band, maybe Paul and Gene will do the same and ask me back…”

    • Dana on

      Where in the statement does it say Sneap will be touring with them? What I gleaned from it, is that Tipton will join them as a five piece, when he can. So basically, they are still a quartet.

    • RTunes68 on

      Dana, am I misunderstanding your question? The band’s statement says, “we have decided unanimously as a band to continue our **live shows** unchanged with Rob, Ian [Hill, bass], Richie [Faulkner, guitar], Scott [Travis, drums], **Andy** and Glenn[Tipton, guitar] joining us whenever he’s able.” Also, it says so in the first sentence of the article.

    • Dana on


      No you’re not, your “editior” was having a comprehension lapse, aka a brain fart, sorry, you are correct. How I missed Andy’s name in that listing is beyond me, especially since I posted the darn thing..old age stinks.

      Once again, my apologies.


  • T on

    This just in,..after sleeping on it, the band has decided to go 6 piece, and refuse to rule out 7. (JK;)

  • Ray Gillen on

    That was a perfect time to have a sit down with KK , disappointing.

  • Doug on

    I give respect to Priest for stepping back, seeing things “from the balcony” and making a better informed decision. Good for them, and for us fans.

Leave a Reply