On the 40th anniversary of their album, Sad Wings Of Destiny, former Judas Priest guitarist K.K. Downing has posted a video in which he reflects back on the album. Watch it below.

K.K. announced his retirement from the band in April 2011. He was replaced by guitarist Richie Richie Faulkner, who previously worked with Lauren Harris, daughter of Iron Maiden bassist, Steve Harris.

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

14 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Dana on

    I love Sad Wings of Destiny, and Victim of Changes, is one of my all time favorite Judas Priest songs.

    D 🙂

    • DR Is Live on

      Victim of Changes from Unleashed from the East is my favorite live Priest tune. I don’t care what tricks they used in the post production…epic.

      I like Richie Faulkner….I love KK Downing.

    • Dana on

      Agreed, that version is killer, but I always tip my hand to the original.

      D 🙂

    • DR Is Live on

      That’s because you are an original, Girl.

    • Dana on

      Awww, so sweet. Thanks DR, you made my day. 🙂

      D 🙂

  • Harold Taint on

    Sad Wings of Destiny is a fantastic record!! Too often overlooked.

    • Dana on

      Agreed! I maybe wrong, but I think Dave Mustaine once said that was his favorite Priest album.

      D 🙂

  • Rattlehead on

    Victim of Changes is one of my favorites from Priest, as well. It was one of the first songs that I heard from Priest that really turned me on to them! And that slow/softer section in the middle of Victim sure made the song sound extra heavy! Long live the mighty Priest! \m/

    Been seeing a few recent articles about K.K . talking about Priest related topics. I wonder if he is having second thoughts about leaving the band???? I thought I read a short while back that K.K. said he would return if Priest, Sabbath, and Maiden played together. That’s probably more of a dream show, but I would love to see that gig go off!!

  • RandyK on

    GREAT album. Ripper, Tyrant, Island of Domination, and of course Victim of Changes. Awesome stuff.

  • James K. on

    SAD WINGS OF DESTINY is a perfect album in my opinion. As far as landmark albums go, I put this album with the best of the best. “Victim Of Changes” is arguably the definitive Judas Priest song. It has everything they’re known for: The twin axe attack of Tipton and Downing, sinister, progressive and grinding song structure and The Metal God’s soaring and dynamic vocals. “Epitaph” shows Rob’s range and that he can just as easily sing in a lower register as he can at ear splitting highs. “Genocide” is a song that never gets mentioned but it’s one of my favorite Priest songs, especially the breakdown section. My God, I headbang to the point of whiplash when I listen to that song! “The Ripper” and “Island Of Domination” are the first two Judas Priest songs I learned to play on guitar. SAD WINGS OF DESTINY is one of those albums I’ll never get tired of listening to and every time I listen to it I can’t listen any other way than start to finish at ear blasting volume.

    I’ve said this before, but Judas Priest is my all time favorite band and this album is proof why.

Leave a Reply