In October 2016, the classic lineup of Dokken-Don Dokken (vocals), George Lynch (guitar), Jeff Pilson (bass) and Mick Brown (drums)-reunited to play the Loud Park festival in Japan. Fortunately for fans outside of Japan, cameras were there to capture the performance and now Frontiers Music Srl is set to issue Return To The East Live 2016 on April 20th. In addition to the Japanese performance, this set will feature footage from the classic lineup’s only U.S. show in September 2016 at Badlands in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

The band has released a clip of In My Dreams, off this release, watch it below.

Return To The East Live 2016 will be available in the following formats:

* CD/DVD* Blu-Ray
* Collector’s Box (CD/DVD + T-Shirt) [Comes with XL tee in the U.S., L tee in EU] * 2xLP Standard 180g Black Vinyl
* 2xLP Limited Edition 180g Green Vinyl (Exclusive to Frontiers’ U.S. Store – Limited to 150 worldwide)
* 2xLP Limited Edition 180g Red Vinyl (Exclusive to Frontiers’ EU Store – Limited to 150 worldwide)
* MP3 (audio only)

If the release wasn’t amazing enough, the package includes a brand-new studio track, It’s Just Another Day, and two acoustic re-workings of classic tracks.

Don Dokken says, “After 25 years, it was great to reunite with George and Jeff and Mick and do a couple shows for the fans. We hope you like this album and video. There’s a lot of great bonus footage of us having fun, so enjoy it.”

Pilson adds, “I’m so thrilled this piece of the Dokken story is hitting the streets. What a magical experience it has been and this CD/DVD captures a lot of that wonderful manic energy that has always made Dokken so vital! I remain extremely grateful to have been a part of such a vibrant voice in the world of heavy rock. Thanks to the fans and to George, Don and Mick for being the musicians, writers and friends that you are!”

Return To The East Live 2016 Track listing:


1. It’s Another Day (new studio track)
2. Kiss Of Death
3. The Hunter
4. Unchain The Night
5. When Heaven Comes Down
6. Breakin’ The Chains
7. Into The Fire
8. Dream Warriors
9. Tooth And Nail
10. Alone Again (intro)
11. Alone Again
12. It’s Not Love
13. In My Dreams
14. Heaven Sent (acoustic studio bonus track)
15. Will The Sun Rise (acoustic studio bonus track)


1. Tooth And Nail
2. Unchain The Night
3. When Heaven Comes Down
4. Breakin’ The Chains
5. Into The Fire
6. Alone Again
7. It’s Not Love
8. Paris Is Burning
9. Kiss Of Death
10. The Hunter
11. Dream Warriors
12. In My Dreams
13. Behind The Scenes

To view a trailer, for this special release, please click here.

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

15 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • RTunes68 on

    Well, George Lynch’s guitar playing is still on point. Jeff Pilson and Mick Brown still make for a tight rhythm section, both instrumentally and vocally. The three of them sound excellent together….

  • Rattlehead on

    Music sounds great, but it appears Don’s vocals are totally dubbed in!

    • MikeyMan on

      “Cleaned up” for sure, now we know why it took so long for this to finally be released!
      I’ll still buy it, I collect everything.

    • Ray Gillen on

      Dubbed in bigtime. You here him still when he`s already off the mic,lol. It`s like a solid gold moment. He is so weak these days, you`d think he would gladly accept a reunion just so the guys can play off his attempt at singing. boooo

    • Doug on

      I thought the same thing.

  • shannon mehaffey on

    Ok, but that totally kicked ass. That’s what chemistry looks like and sounds like. The best version of the song…a renewed soulfulness. Don’s a great vocalist because he doesn’t over muscle the song, he lets the song and the lyrics breathe. Love that solo from George, that last note…a new soulfulness…this song aged really, really well.

  • Coredrum on

    Watched this version and then a fan filmed version of same song…Dons vocals are almost non existent on the fan one bc Pilson and Brown do tons of filling in for him…then watching this one you can clearly see his lips don’t match the vocals heard…seems like a lot more than an”touch up” of vocals…more like a complete redo…embarrassing. The only reason to see this is for the other 3…Don, you suck and you seem very uninterested in being there so why do this?

  • shannon mehaffey on

    It’s funny how this prejudice against the frontman makes people completely overlook that he’s up there playing solid guitar (I was at the South Dakota show; he’s a good player), and a certain classic live record was completely re-sung in the studio because the singer was sick the night of the shows. (Both were in Japan). I sure am not going to not listen to that record!
    Around Tooth and Nail, these guys actually got along too. When George was getting all that attention for being a guitar god, Don and the guys were happy about it because it helped the band. It was one for all. Then, stupid people around them starting throwing their two cents in; the drugs didn’t help either.

    • Ray Gillen on

      Don is that you?

Leave a Reply