In October 2016, the classic lineup of Dokkden-Don Dokken (vocals), George Lynch (guitar), Jeff Pilson (bass) and Mick Brown (drums)-reunited to play the Loud Park festival in Japan. Fortunately for fans outside of Japan, cameras were there to capture the performance and now Frontiers Music Srl is set to issue Return To The East Live 2016 on April 20th. In addition to the Japanese performance, this set will feature footage from the classic lineup’s only U.S. show in September 2016 at Badlands in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Return To The East Live 2016 will be available in the following formats:

* CD/DVD* Blu-Ray
* Collector’s Box (CD/DVD + T-Shirt) [Comes with XL tee in the U.S., L tee in EU] * 2xLP Standard 180g Black Vinyl
* 2xLP Limited Edition 180g Green Vinyl (Exclusive to Frontiers’ U.S. Store – Limited to 150 worldwide)
* 2xLP Limited Edition 180g Red Vinyl (Exclusive to Frontiers’ EU Store – Limited to 150 worldwide)
* MP3 (audio only)

If the release wasn’t amazing enough, the package includes a brand-new studio track, It’s Just Another Day, and two acoustic re-workings of classic tracks.

Don Dokken says, “After 25 years, it was great to reunite with George and Jeff and Mick and do a couple shows for the fans. We hope you like this album and video. There’s a lot of great bonus footage of us having fun, so enjoy it.”

Pilson adds, “I’m so thrilled this piece of the Dokken story is hitting the streets. What a magical experience it has been and this CD/DVD captures a lot of that wonderful manic energy that has always made Dokken so vital! I remain extremely grateful to have been a part of such a vibrant voice in the world of heavy rock. Thanks to the fans and to George, Don and Mick for being the musicians, writers and friends that you are!”

Return To The East Live 2016 Track listing:


1. It’s Another Day (new studio track)
2. Kiss Of Death
3. The Hunter
4. Unchain The Night
5. When Heaven Comes Down
6. Breakin’ The Chains
7. Into The Fire
8. Dream Warriors
9. Tooth And Nail
10. Alone Again (intro)
11. Alone Again
12. It’s Not Love
13. In My Dreams
14. Heaven Sent (acoustic studio bonus track)
15. Will The Sun Rise (acoustic studio bonus track)


1. Tooth And Nail
2. Unchain The Night
3. When Heaven Comes Down
4. Breakin’ The Chains
5. Into The Fire
6. Alone Again
7. It’s Not Love
8. Paris Is Burning
9. Kiss Of Death
10. The Hunter
11. Dream Warriors
12. In My Dreams
13. Behind The Scenes

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

6 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Rattlehead on

    First day non buyer here!

    In this trailer promo, there are virtually no live snippets of Don performing….I guess that was strategic so potential buyers aren’t turned off by an uninspired live performance?

    And there shouldn’t have been any vocals audible in this trailer promo, just the music…Don’s vocals are certain to turn off potential buyers.

  • T on

    Don and George smiling in the same picture??, and Don not giving a backhanded compliment?? Someone call CNN!

  • Tom Staszewski on

    It’s pretty obvious Don’s vocals were all re-done in the studio. Super clean, not out of breath, etc. Nice to see for nostalgia reasons I guess, like KISS the last 10+ years or so. But that’s about it. Sad reality is that these guys just can’t sing anymore. Paul Stanley sounds like he ran around the block 30 times before getting onstage and it’s like Peter Brady when his voice changed. Not everyone can hang on to a solid singing voice going into their 60s.

  • John Rives on

    Looks like a trailer for Spinal Tap at the Enormodome.

  • Keith G on

    Definitely a NO-GO for me! First off, Dokken were always a second-tier band for me. George’s guitar playing was really the only thing that got me to listen to these guys. Mick and Jeff are a solid rhythm section, but they aren’t anything special. Don’s vocals were never what I would call great. He had a pretty limited range back in the 80’s, and age certainly hasn’t helped matters. They had a few really good songs (Paris is Burning, Tooth and Nail, Alone Again, and It’s Not Love are my favorites). We all know that these guys haven’t reunited because they wanted to play together again. They did it for a paycheck! There’s nothing wrong with that, either! But the clips I’ve seen show a band that’s going thru the motions. Reunions only work when the band members have a real desire to play together again. Don’s made it very clear that he’s happy with his current bandmates, and has no desire to permanently reunite with the original guys. George seems to be releasing music with new bands every six months. Jeff and Mick have their own projects going. Even if they really wanted to play together again and reunited for the right reasons, I personally wouldn’t be that excited about it. Given the fact that this “reunion” was only for money, I have no desire to participate.

    • mike monet on

      That is a very positive spin on this DOKKEN get together thing. I’m glad you enjoy the bands chemistry, especially Don’s vocal range. Will you be pre-ordering the DVD/CD or paying more in a store because DOKKEN is worth extra? Are you an EAGLES fan who despises Nick Foles? Are you upset that spring begins soon? You should volunteer at a hospital and spread the cheer around. HEY SICK GUY YOU WANT TO LISTEN TO THE BACK FOR THE ATTACK ALBUM? NAH FORGET IT. IT’S AWFUL. OH NO! DID YOU SAY THAT THEY SENT YOUR WIFE TO THE 3RD FLOOR? NOBODY LEAVES THE 3RD FLOOR ALIVE, BUT AT LEAST SHE’LL NEVER HAVE TO HEAR THE NEW DOKKEN ALBUM.

Leave a Reply