Acefrehley400 Hot off the heels of the monster debut of Space Invader Ace Frehley has announced his touring lineup for the first leg of tour dates, his first U.S. shows in four years, which will be announced next week.

Frehley says, “I can’t wait to hit the road again with this new lineup. I’ll be performing Ace classics as well as songs off my new CD Space Invader for the enjoyment of the fans. Let There Be Rock!”

The 2014 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee has tapped none other than Richie Scarlet, who rode shotgun performing rhythm guitar and vocal duties on Ace’s Trouble Walking album from 1989, and will do so again on stage. Ritchie toured with Ace in 1984 and 1985 and periodically from 1989 through 1995 and was also known for touring with Sebastian Bach.

On bass and vocals Chris Wyse from Queens, N.Y. will man the post. Previously recording with Ozzy Osbourne and playing on Mick Jagger’s 2001 solo album, Chris is well known as the bass player from The Cult since 2006. Chris can also be heard on Frehley’s new release, Space Invader on select tracks. He also covers bass duties in his current band, Owl.

Finally, Scot Coogan will be behind the drum kit for Frehley’s upcoming tour. An Ace Frehley touring band veteran in his own right, Scott was also a member of Nikki Sixx’s Brides of Destruction recording and touring band in 2004 and Lita Ford’s touring drummer in 2012.

Ace Frehley recently made history with his new album, which debuted at #9 on the Top 200 Chart in its week of release. The LP scored the highest charting position of ANY Kiss solo album ever, and marks Frehley’s first return to the Top 10 since KISS’ 1998 Pyscho Circus reunion album. Internationally, Space Invader has debuted #1 on the Independent Chart and #16 on the Top 200 Chart in Canada, Top 40 in Switzerland and Sweden, and hit a historic benchmark for the first time ever as a solo artist in Germany.

Space Invader, Frehley’s first studio album in five years, has also received praise from critics. Rolling Stone wrote, “Gene Simmons has claimed Ace Frehley doesn’t deserve to wear KISS’ Kabuki clown paint, but the former Spaceman’s first solo LP in five years says otherwise,” while the Associated Press hailed, “…the original KISS lead guitarist has recorded his best solo album since his groundbreaking self-titled album in 1978.” Paste also confirmed, “Space Invader is a good rock album, and it’s an even better guitar record.”

Frehley stopped by The Tonight Show prior to his album release to sit in with legendary house band The Roots to perform his classic hit New York Groove. Watch it here.

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

74 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Lee on

    Talktopete….you saved me from typing. Paul told me this band in ’14 is as tight as he’s played in ever. Asking Ace fer an autograph for years was an adventure, except at N.A.M.M. and when you pay for it at Chillah or in-store. Forget about on guitars…unless you got a wad.

  • talktopete on

    There is NO WAY on earth they would sell out theaters. They had one hit. That’s it, with a bunch of no name guys. If there was any money in it they would’ve done it already. Those songs may have rocked for you but not for many more.

    • Milkmonte on

      His first concert date is the Chiller Theater and its Sold Out F-Tard!

  • Lee on

    Hey Ace, brother I knew you’d listen and do Chillah!!!!… I gotta get my vinyl Space Invader graphed. The 6 Million Dollar Man, JJ and Tony Orlando next to you….talk about 1976 all over again. Maybe Eddie next to Jimmie Walker-dynomite!

  • Green bastard on

    This is hysterical. Ace playing alongside Danny cooksie (diff’rent strokes kid), Alice from the honeymooners and JJ Evans??? Tiger stadium to this??! Insanely sad.

    • Shawn on

      Maybe this means I can catch him play at my local mall. C’mon Eddie, can’t you help him get a better gig then this.

    • Jim From Houston on

      Ace has done Halloween signings for years nothing new. He does not play only signs stuff.

    • elliot on

      you mean Trixie. alice is dead (R.I.P) respect!

    • elliot on

      “Cooksey’s Comet”

  • elliot on

    announcing the new cd from tommy Thayer, “ace imitator”, featuring the hit single: “whatever paul and gene want.”

    • guitarslinger on

      Also including smash hits like Gimme that Paycheck, Inside the Contract, I wanna Copy You, Spineless … alright, this is bashing again, he might really be a nice guy but what his real persona and guitar playing would be today, no one will ever know. Sad.

    • elliot on

      don’t forget his cover of steve spaceley’s “the faker”

Leave a Reply