The buzz surrounding legendary metal band Judas Priest’s forthcoming album, Firepower, is undeniably growing louder – on the strength of the video clip for the track Lightning Strike, as well as many of the attractive/limited edition purchasing options made available for fans via PledgeMusic already being sold out. And it will soon reach a fever pitch with the unveiling of another new killer track, plus another limited edition of the forthcoming album being made available for purchase.

Fans can now hear the title track from Firepower below and can purchase a metallic silver-colored cassette version of the album on PledgeMusic and is being issued in an extremely limited pressing of only 300. And if judging from how quickly some of the previous limited edition bundles sold out through the site (such as signed guitars from Glenn Tipton and Richie Faulkner, various colors of autographed vinyl, etc.), this rare cassette version will be an instant rarity and collector’s item.

Set for release on Friday, March 9th, 2018 through Epic Records – the album is comprised of fourteen tracks of pure and highly inspired metal. And to mark the occasion Priest (singer Rob Halford, guitarists Glenn Tipton and Richie Faulkner, bassist Ian Hill, and drummer Scott Travis) has reunited with producer Tom Allom (the man behind the board for all of the band’s releases from 1979-1988, including such stellar classics as Unleashed in the East, British Steel, Screaming for Vengeance and Defenders of the Faith) and with Grammy Award-winning producer Andy Sneap also helping to raise the sonic bar even higher.

“Tom Allom has got this classic metal thing,” explains Halford. “And Andy is a bit more of a ‘modern metal producer’ but his thinking is a little bit different to Tom’s. And I think to get this balance between that classic old school metal to what Andy’s world is was just a remarkable coalescence.” “Tom Allom has been with us since 1979, so his knowledge of ourselves and our music in general is immense,” adds Hill. And according to Travis Priest returned back to a recording method that worked incredibly well on the band’s earlier classics – “We went back to the organic way of recording where it’s all of us in a room and we got to play together.”

With the impending arrival of Firepower and its ensuing tour (which kicks off on March 13th), the Priest is back.

Firepower track listing:

1. Firepower
2. Lightning Strike
3. Evil Never Dies
4. Never The Heroes
5. Necromancer
6. Children of the Sun
7. Guardians
8. Rising From Ruins
9. Flame Thrower
10. Spectre
11. Traitors Gate
12. No Surrender
13. Lone Wolf
14. Sea of Red

For more information, please visit judaspriest.com.

10 Responses

  1. I’ve said this before, and I’m going to say it again and I’m sure people are not going to like it….

    This song, and sound, is a Halford record. As a Halford release, this is top notch. As a Judas Priest record…I’m sorry I don’t buy it.

    And this is coming from a JP fan.

    I’m sure many are going to disagree with me and that’s fine. For those who like it and plan to buy the new album, I hope you enjoy it.

    I’m done….

    1. D.J.H I agree completely , too me this is metal by numbers – very un-inspired – these guys are still so talented as players halford can still bring it – songwriting is not so good – I realize i’m arm chair quarterbacking here , but maybe revisit the sin after sin / stained class era for some inspiration

    2. You’re spot on DJH, although this track is a little better than the first. Halford’s voice has obviously aged and he’s had to hide that fact on recent recordings. On this one he seems to sing within his new range and accept it (as referenced by Shannon).

      You know Priest put out such amazing music throughout the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s…Even Angel of Retribution…it’s hard not to compare new to that classic old. It’s not a comparison to the past, but perhaps an expectation based on past greatness.

    3. I don’t know guys…this song really has all the hallmarks of a great Priest song…..it has so many cool little parts in it…it’s a deceptively basic metal song….it commands to be played over and over again the way the great Priest albums of yesteryear did….I think in a month you’ll be loving the hell out of this song.

    4. You called it DJH, the immediate impression I got was this sounds like it came off of Halford’s “Made of Metal” album. Which is my least favorite of the Halford albums.

      Also, the drums sound very similar to Machine Man from the Demolition album.

      Just meh, not as good as Lightning Strike for sure.

  2. Nice piece of ear candy, with an excellent lead break from Tipton. Leads me to believe that there’s a good album in here if they would’ve just made it shorter, something also noted by DR IS LIVE. Also, Halford is in great shape here…this is him, no tricks.

  3. Well, I have too concur, fourteen songs means there could be a good amount of filler(though I’m hoping that assessment is proved wrong). I’m hoping with Tom Allom back in the fold, there will be a revisitation of the Stained Class-Defenders era. (The song) Firepower is no Painkiller, unfortunately, but it still rips. I still expect there will be some surprises, lyrically and riff-wise.

  4. I’ve enjoyed every song that has been previewed for this album, and I look forward to its release. I think the band sounds great and Halford can still bring it, vocally. It’s gonna be a great 2018…New Judas Priest, new Saxon (which i just bought, and it think it rocks!!), and new Ghost!

Leave a Reply