whitesnake1984-640 Whitesnake fans worldwide now have something to be excited about! To celebrate the 30th Anniversary of Whitesnake’s multi-platinum Slide It In album, Frontiers Music Srl, the Italian-based label, will release Live In ‘84 – Back To The Bone, a complete celebration of the group’s awe inspiring lineup during what many feel was the incredible beginning of what Coverdale called his desire to make Whitesnake more “electrifying” on record & on stage.

Set for release in the EU on November 7th and in North America on November 11th, this release will be available in DVD and a Deluxe CD/DVD edition.

Culled from audio and video recordings and unheard demos from the private collection of Whitesnake leader and vocalist, David Coverdale, the release offers an ultra-rare collection of material, performed by the band’s acclaimed ’83-’84 line-ups. Featured on the record & driven by the awesome Cozy Powell on drums (ex- Jeff Beck Group, Rainbow, MSG and later on Gary Moore and Black Sabbath, among others); unique guitarist John Sykes, whom Coverdale credits with inspiring a whole generation of six stringers after his breathtaking work on the Whitesnake 87’ album and Bassist exceptionale Neil Murray.

There is also an extraordinary emotional bonus content featuring legendary keyboardist Jon Lord performing his last show ever with Whitesnake on video and also the bonus CD.

“It’s still hard for me to find the words when remembering that half the incredible band who originally recorded the Slide It In album with me have passed away,” says Coverdale. “It’s incredibly difficult to articulate: Cozy Powell…Mel Galley…Jon Lord…All amazing people and amazing musicians. Their memories live on in our hearts & in the music they made. I miss them beyond words… Wait until you see & hear them playing as only they can and add in the fiery guitar assault of the incredibly gifted John Sykes, plus the relentless melodic bass pounding of Neil Murray.”

Coverdale and co-producer Michael McIntyre launched a worldwide search for the best quality video footage and audio tracks from the 1984 tour. Among the gems found was a set from: Super-Rock, recorded at the first Japanese rock festival at Seibu Stadium in Tokyo and an invaluable video of Jon Lord’s final appearance with Whitesnake recorded live in Sweden. “All of the features on this package have been treated lovingly & respectfully, with no expense spared, utilizing technology to improve sound & picture quality,” says Coverdale, who personally oversaw all elements of this release.

Concludes Coverdale, “These are memories I treasure and delight in sharing with you as we continue our celebration of the 30th Anniversary of WHhitesnake’s Slide It In.”

Track listing:

CD (only available in combo edition):

1. Gambler
2. Guilty Of Love
3. Love Ain’t No Stranger
4. Slow An’ Easy
5. Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues

6. Ready An’ Willing
7. Guitar Solo
8. Crying In The Rain
9. Soldier Of Fortune
10. Love Ain’t No Stranger
11. Ready An’ Willing
12. Slow An’ Easy

Bonus Tracks – Jon Lord’s Final Performance with Whitesnake (Medley)

13. Gambler (featuring Jon Lord)
14. Guilty of Love (featuring Jon Lord)
15. Love Ain’t No Stranger (featuring Jon Lord)
16. Ready an’ Willing (featuring Jon Lord)


1. Gambler
2. Guilty of Love
3. Love Ain’t No Stranger
4. Ready an’ Willing
5. Slow an’ Easy
6. Crying in the Rain
7. Guitar Solo
8. Soldier of Fortune
9. Drum Solo
10. Ain’t No Love in the Heart of the City
11. Don’t Break My Heart Again

Bonus Tracks – Jon Lord’s Final Performance with Whitesnake (Medley)

12. Gambler (featuring Jon Lord)
13. Guilty of Love (featuring Jon Lord)
14. Love Ain’t No Stranger (featuring Jon Lord)
15. Ready an’ Willing (featuring Jon Lord)

DVD Bonus Gallery – Slide It In Slide Show with Rare Unseen Photos – The music bed contains snippets of private demos from David’s personal archives.

For all things Whitesnake, please visit and



Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

51 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Sean on

    If I remember rightly, when slide it in was recorded it wasn’t with John Sykes at all.He was bought into Whitesnake after Thin Lizzy was put on ice by the late Phil Lynot. Coverdale wanted to break America with the Slide it in album,but I think it was John Kalodner at Geffen who didn’t think the production was good enough. Martin Birch was the Whitesnake producer at that point.So with some lineup changes which saw Sykes bought in and a remix the Slide it in was released in the U.S. And the rest they say is history!

    • Robbie on

      It was Mel Galley

  • DC on

    Interested in this, but would be 10X more so if it was from 87…

  • Carlos on

    David Coverdale is pretty spot on when he put’s his name behind all of the Whitesnake reissues. This release is going to smoke!!! I love all era’s of Whitesnake, but Slide It In to me has the best collection of songs on any of their albums. Sykes really brought a lot to the group, and I’m interested to see and hear all this live material. This will be of upmost quality as usual as per Whitesake. They are one of my favorite bands period. In case nobody noticed, Dana loves John Sykes jajajaa =) =) I agree the guy is a beast on guitar.

  • Mike on


    If anyone knows, was Sykes fired or did he quit? And why?

    • Eddie on

      The entire band that made the ’87 album was let go when it was completed

    • Chris on

      According to John Sykes, everyone who played on the ’87 record was fired after they finished their parts, including the producer. According to Coverdale they were more interested in how they would be financially when Coverdale was having vocal problems.

Leave a Reply