The four albums that made Dokken one of the ‘80s top rock bands are now being collected together as a box set (available in LP or CD formats) from BMG, The Elektra Albums 1983-1987.

Released on January 27th, the limited edition set will include Dokken’s million-selling, worldwide charting first 4 studio albums (Breaking the Chains, Tooth and Nail, Under Lock and Key, and Back for the Attack) as a either a 5LP or 5CD set. 

All of the albums feature the classic line-up of Don Dokken (vocals), George Lynch (guitar), Jeff Pilson (bass), and “Wild” Mick Brown (drums), and all have been newly remastered by Andy Pearce (Black Sabbath, Motörhead). Additionally, the LP box features 180g black vinyl.  Pre-order is available by clicking here.

Both LP & CD box sets include:

  • Breaking The Chains (1983) – US #136
    • Includes Breaking The Chains (#32 US Rock) and Paris Is Burning (Live)
  • Tooth And Nail (1984) – Platinum – US #49
    • Includes Into The Fire (#21 US Rock), Just Got Lucky (#27 US Rock), and Alone Again (#64 US Hot 100, #20 US Rock)
  • Under Lock And Key (1985) – Platinum – US #32
    • Includes The Hunter (#25 US Rock), In My Dreams (#77 US Hot 100, #24 US Rock)
  • Back For The Attack (1987) – Platinum – US #13
    • Includes The Theme From Nightmare On Elm Street 3, Dream Warriors (#22 US Rock), Burning Like A Flame (#72 US Hot 100, #20 US Rock), and Prisoner (#37 US Rock)
  • 5LP boxset includes:
  • Breaking The Chains 1LP
  • Tooth And Nail 1LP
  • Under Lock And Key 1LP
  • Back For The Attack 2LP
  • CD boxset includes:
  • Breaking The Chains 1CD
  • Tooth And Nail 1CD
  • Under Lock And Key 1CD
  • Back For The Attack 1CD

Hailing from Los Angeles, Dokken released a string of platinum albums throughout the 1980’s, and toured the globe  with the biggest names in hard rock and heavy metal, including Van Halen, Aerosmith, Metallica, Scorpions, and KISS

The band had several hit singles on the Mainstream Rock and Billboard Hot 100 charts, and were all over MTV with their videos for Breaking The Chains, Alone Again, Into The Fire, In My Dreams, It’s Not Love, Burning Like A Flame and especially the Theme from Nightmare on Elm Street 3, Dream Warriors, where they starred alongside Freddy Krueger.

Dokken have sold more than 10 million albums worldwide, and their live album, Beast from the East, was nominated for the inaugural Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance in 1989.

And now, fans will get to experience – and hear – all four classic albums in a way they had never been able to before. 

12 Responses

  1. Oh good, now I have a good reason to buy back all the Dokken albums I threw away (along with the Lynch Mob albums) when I overreacted to the whole Lynch Mob name change bullsh-t!

  2. Agree on Back for the Attack. Kiss of Death, Standing in the Shadows..omg. I always found it interesting that the song Back For the Attack wasn’t on the record. The song was the b-side to the Dream Warriors single. Also, the Dream Warriors song that’s on Back For the Attack is not the original version. I don’t know why they didn’t include these tracks in this set?

    1. Yankee Rose,

      Very interesting, I had no clue about that, but I was never a fan of Dream Warriors, it is probably my least liked tune on the record, which I think, it filled with some really great tracks.

      As for Back For The Attack, again, I had no knowledge that it was a song. Now I have to see if I can find it online, and give it a listen.

      Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply