A new Black Sabbath collection will be available in a crucifix-shaped vinyl package in November.

BMG will release Black Sabbath The Ultimate Collection on CD and digital formats on October 28th, with the limited-edition “crucified” 4LP heavyweight vinyl version available from November 18th.

The Ultimate Collection is curated in conjunction with the band and features 31 songs remastered by engineer Andy Pearce.

Black Sabbath are currently on their farewell The End world tour. The road trip comes to a close with two dates in their home city of Birmingham, UK, in February 2017.

On the prospect of Black Sabbath’s career coming to an end, frontman Ozzy Osbourne previously said, “We started off as four guys from Aston who had a dream, and it came true beyond our wildest dreams.

We were manipulated, ripped off, conned. We lost each other within each other. But. it’s great to have got this back just to end on a high note.”

Sabbath’s use of an inverted crucifix on the artwork for their self-titled debut album was described as a “promotional ploy” by former drummer Bill Ward recently.

Ward said, “I think there were some wise guys who deliberately put that together as a ploy – as an advertising, promotional ploy, or who had seriously misgauged us as a band.

There was no collaboration, so I don’t know who was responsible for it. I guess someone thought it would be a good idea and thought that was what we represented.”

Black Sabbath The Ultimate Collection “crucifold” vinyl track list:

Side 1:

1. Paranoid
2. Never Say Die
3. Iron Man
4. Black Sabbath

Side 2:

1. Children Of The Grave
2. Fairies Wear Boots
3. Changes
4. Rat Salad

Side 3:

1. Sweet Leaf
2. War Pigs
3. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath

Side 4:

1. Hole In The Sky
2. Symptom Of The Universe
3. Spiral Architect
4. Rock ‘N’ Roll Doctor

Side 5:

1. Dirty Women
2. Evil Woman, Don’t Play Your Games With Me
3. A Hard Road

Side 6:

1. Lord Of This World
2. Into The Void
3. Behind The Wall Of Sleep
4. Snowblind

Side 7:

1. Tomorrow’s Dream
2. The Wizard
3. N.I.B.
4. Electric Funeral

Side 8:

1. Embryo
2. Killing Yourself To Live
3. Am I Going Insane
4. Wicked World
5. It’s Alright

CD Disc One track listing:

1. Paranoid
2. Never Say Die
3. Iron Man
4. Black Sabbath
5. Children Of The Grave
6. Fairies Wear Boots
7. Changes
8. Rat Salad
9. Sweet Leaf
10. War Pigs
11. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
12. Hole In The Sky
13. Symptom Of The Universe
14. Spiral Architect
15. Rock ‘N’ Roll Doctor

CD Disc Two track listing:

1. Dirty Women
2. Evil Woman, Don’t Play Your Games With Me
3. A Hard Road
4. Lord Of This World
5. Into The Void
6. Behind The Wall Of Sleep
7. Snowblind
8. Tomorrow’s Dream
9. The Wizard
10. N.I.B.
11. Electric Funeral
12. Embryo
13. Killing Yourself To Live
14. Am I Going Insane
15. Wicked World
16. It’s Alright


3 Responses

  1. Do we really need another Sabbath “greatest hits” package? Kinda reminds me of KI$$, another band that repackages their “greatest hits”. I love both bands (well, not the current tribute band version of KI$$), but I don’t like it when things turn into what I perceive as “money grabs”.

  2. Does anyone even buy these greatest hits packages anymore? I own all the Sabbath cds, why would I want to buy this? Plus I can make my own greatest hits/ultimate collection from these cds and burn it to a disc or ipod myself. It’d be nice if bands would release material that didn’t make it to a past album instead of repackaged greatest hits.

  3. Oh Yay! Just what I needed…. another collection of the same old songs by the same old band, repackaged with some marketing exec’s idea of “the fans are going to eat this up” garbage. I’ll throw this piece of junk on top of the other 23 compilations put out by record companies to suck the money from this band. Give it a rest.

Leave a Reply