Hollywood Vampires return with new music in the form of their explosive second album, Rise. Rock and roll royalty Joe Perry, Hollywood superstar Johnny Depp, and shock rock icon Alice Cooper join forces once again for the unmissable rock album of 2019. Rise will be released June 21st through earMUSIC. The first singe, Who’s Laughing Now, can be streamed below.

Seconds into the opening track I Want My Now, it’s clear this supergroup has created something special. The chemistry between the individuals is unmistakable when they come together on stage or in the recording studio. Forget the individual reputations of the star-studded lineup, Rise features some of the purest, most unapologetic, and most enjoyable rock ‘n’ roll of the year — made by masters of the craft and true fans of the form.

Unlike Hollywood Vampires’ 2015 debut record, Rise, consists mainly of original material written by the band. However, in the spirit of the Vampires’ original mission, there are three covers of songs originally written and recorded by some fellow rockers who died far too young: an intimate and intense version of David Bowie’s Heroes, beautifully performed by Johnny Depp; the late Jim Carroll Band’s People Who Died; and Johnny Thunders’s You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory, sung by Joe Perry.

Raucous rock anthems like The Boogieman Surprise and first single Who’s Laughing Now capture the natural, raw, and celebratory attitude that the Hollywood Vampires displayed in their rowdy shows around the world. However, the album shows off their range as well with tracks like We Gotta Rise — a tongue-in-cheek politics song in the tradition of Cooper’s Elected — to the psychedelic gothic epic of Mr. Spider.

Rise is not only a totally different animal than the first Vampires album, it is unique to anything I’ve ever been a part of,” says Cooper. “I approached it very differently than I usually do when working on an album. Each of us; Joe, Johnny, Tommy, and myself have written songs on this album. What is different though is that I didn’t try to change any songs to be more ‘Alice-like.’ Because each of us has different influences, the sound of this album is very cool. I think that with this album, we are establishing what the Vampires’ sound really is, whereas with the first album, we were more tipping our hats to our fallen rock ‘n’ roll brothers.”

Perry says, ‘Rise came from pure creative energy, which is just like playing live with the Vampires. The record showcases everyone doing what they do best without anyone looking over our shoulders. There was no pressure or deadlines, allowing us to write and record an album that is one of the freest and most honest sounding records I’ve been part of. I can’t wait to perform some of these tunes live for our fans.”

Rise track listing:

1. I Want My Now 
2. Good People Are Hard to Find 
3. Who’s Laughing Now 
4. How the Glass Fell 
5. The Boogieman Surprise 
6. Welcome to Bushwackers (feat. Jeff Beck + John Waters) 
7. The Wrong Bandage 
8. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around a Memory 
9. Git From Round Me 
10. Heroes 
11. A Pitiful Beauty 
12. New Threat 
13. Mr. Spider 
14. We Gotta Rise 
15. People Who Died 
16. Congratulations

Hollywood Vampires will embark on a short U.S. tour in early May. Completing the live lineup will be rock star musician friends Glen Sobel (Alice Cooper) on drums, Chris Wyse (The Cult) on bass, and Buck Johnson (Aerosmith) on keyboard and vocals.

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

16 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Dana on

    Sorry, but I am laughing now, this is dreadful.

    • robert davenport on

      It seems like Alice just doesn’t care at all about trying to write something decent …….
      this is a glaring example of why young people are tuning out rock music , the great so called classic rock legends the ones who are supposed to give us amazing music , are churning out garbage , coop/ perry we all expect much more from you –

    • Dana on

      Well maybe, they think this is quality music??

    • robert davenport on

      If they think what they just put out is quality , then they need some help ASAP

    • Dana on

      Agreed, lol!

  • King_Kool on

    Wow, that was bad.

  • Michael Monet on

    The MOTLEY CRUE LIKE A VIRGIN is actually worse but this comes close. It is a smart strategy indeed, Johnny Depp is going through a divorce so by releasing a song like this he can justify not making any money because no one in their right mind would give him money for this garbage. Shame on you Alice Cooper. You are arguably the greatest living American rock star participating in something like this.

    • Dana on

      I used to admire Depp’s talent’s as an actor (he should clearly stick to his day job), but even that has faded a time long ago.

  • Doug R. on

    I’m a fan of Joe Perry, and Alice Cooper. But I have to say, just like a vampire, this song sucks! 😉

  • RobT on

    I logged in just to agree with everyone else that posted, that was bad. I didn’t even make it to the end of the song. Goodnight.

Leave a Reply