Whitesnake are celebrating the 30th Anniversary of their legendary set at Monsters of Rock with a new streaming concert, Live At Donington, that will feature the band’s classic live performance at their official Whitesnake YouTube channel. The screening will be preceded by a live, on-camera pre-show, and Q&A with David Coverdale, Steve Vai, Adrian Vandenberg, Rudy Sarzo and Tommy Aldridge, who will reunite for the first time since they finished their Slip Of The Tongue World Tour, in celebration of this memorable event. The Q&A stream will go live on August 18th, at 11:30AM PST on the band’s YouTube channel and Facebook page. The concert broadcast will take place at 12:30PM PST, the exact same time as the band took the stage 30 years ago in the UK.
On the same day, Whitesnake will release Live At Donington 1990 (30TH Anniversary Complete Edition), a remastered 17 track collection of the band’s entire performance, digitally. All of the songs from the performance have been remastered. This new digital collection includes a mix of hits and deep tracks, including Is This Love from Whitesnake’s multi-platinum self-titled album and the number one smash Here I Go Again. There are also four instrumental tracks that feature virtuosic guitar solos including, Adagio for Strato, Flying Dutchman Boogie, For The Love Of God, The Audience Is Listening and an explosive drum solo from the extraordinary Tommy Aldridge.
“I can’t wait to be reunited with Steve, Adrian, Rudy and Tommy, even if it’s just for this online moment…” says Coverdale. “They were without a doubt one of the best, most explosive, exciting musical collectives I’ve ever had the pleasure of sharing a global stage with…super people, super musicians…an absolute Supergroup!”
This performance at the Monsters of Rock festival in Donington, U.K. marked their third appearance and second time headlining the famous festival. The band had recently released their third consecutive platinum record and eighth studio album, Slip of the Tongue. Originally released in November 1989, it peaked at number 10 on the U.K. and U.S. album charts. In 2019, Rhino released a 30th Anniversary Edition of the album, along with an unboxing video featuring David Coverdale which can be found here.
Live At Donington 1990  Track Listing: 

1. Slip of the Tongue (Live at Donington, 1990) 
2. Slide It In (Live at Donington, 1990) 
3. Judgment Day (Live at Donington, 1990)  
4. Slow an’ Easy (Live at Donington, 1990)  
5. Kittens Got Claws (Live at Donington, 1990)  
6. Adagio For Strato (Live at Donington, 1990)  
7. Flying Dutchman Boogie (Live at Donington, 1990)  
8. Is This Love (Live at Donington, 1990)  
9. Cheap an’ Nasty (Live at Donington, 1990)  
10. Crying in the Rain (Live at Donington, 1990)  
11. Fool for Your Loving (Live at Donington, 1990) 
12. For The Love Of God (Live at Donington, 1990) 
13. The Audience Is Listening (Live at Donington, 1990)  
14. Here I Go Again (Live at Donington, 1990)  
15. Bad Boys (Live at Donington, 1990)  
16. Ain’t No Love in the Heart of the City (Live at Donington, 1990)  
17. Still of the Night (Live at Donington, 1990)  
Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

2 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • T on

    I would be interested in this. Although I know it’s impossible due to the animosity between him and Coverdale, it would be nice to see Sykes involved in some way shape or form (assuming he wanted to be).
    It’s completely understandable why this can’t happen, but it would be nice.

    • Dana on

      I, too, would love Sykes to be involved, BUT he has nothing to do with Slip of The Tongue, nor this lineup, or performance , so I am not sure what he would have to contribute.

      The classic ‘Snake line-up for me, will always be the ’84 one: Coverdale, Sykes, Powell and Murray.

Leave a Reply