I loved the last Slash album, and my favorite songs were the ones with Myles Kennedy singing. So I was thrilled that the live band he had on that tour now is a real band and has made a full cohesive album of brilliant hard rock. They even have a name, The Conspirators. It’s clear that the couple year touring with Slash served this band well as this is the most band feeling album Slash has made in a long time. The sound is warm and live with Slash’s solos panned to one side and Myles Kennedy (a great guitarist in his own right) panned to the other. Todd Kerns and Brent Fitz are locked in as a rhythm section, holding down a tight pocket under Slash’s riffing and Kennedy’s soaring vocals. “Anastasia” an instant classic on this one. Other highlights include “Bad Rain”, “Standing In The Sun”, and “Halo” to name a few. To me this is Slash’s best work top to bottom since Appetite and the band is great live. Hope they build a great catalog with this group. If you are a Guns fan this album and band are probably more in line with that groups classic sound than anything else to come along


Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

7 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • chris on

    I agree with you completely on Slash’s first solo album, the ones with Myles are clearly the best. I need to check this one out, but haven’t gotten around to it yet…

  • Ricky on

    Slash’s best album since Contraband with VR. Every song is a hard rockin’ classic. Can’t wait for the next LP. Keep up the great work Slash and Co.

  • chris b, on

    Slash, is it not time to bury the hatchet ? Give the world what it needs, GnR.

    • Eddie on

      So that’s all on Slash?? He controls that? Didn’t know it was all on him….

  • Jim Dryden on

    GNR reunion is up to Axl. It will never happen as long as people are going to see the current line up. Great album by Slash. Looking forward to the next CD with Myles and the conspirators.
    Favorites are Anastasia, Not for Me, and Halo.

Leave a Reply