Following the announcement of their debut, self titled, album and first single Liar (here it here) Envy Of None, the new project featuring Alex Lifeson (Rush), Andy Curran (Coney Hatch), Alfio Annibalini and singer Maiah Wynne have revealed Look Inside, their next single and video featuring Envy Of None singer Maiah Wynne.

“Maiah’s lilting vocal performance was an inspiration,” says Alex Lifeson. 

Andy Curran, having a “soft spot” for Look Inside recalls the song’s creation “I was in my studio late one night, headphones on… a few glasses of red wine deep and thought, wouldn’t it be fun to pull out my bass, blow up the tone, double it and play to a really messed up super slow drum groove. It’s got a real stoner vibe to it. That’s what happens when you mix wine and bass… Mission accomplished!”

With the rough bed track and song name sent to vocalist Maiah Wynne her initial thoughts were one of introspection “Sometimes you have to shine a light on all the ugliest pieces of yourself in order to truly change, and you have to keep slaying that dragon over and over again. It is a continuous, slow and painful process. The guitars and bass really drive the grittiness and heaviness I felt when I wrote those lyrics. It feels like an all-encompassing sludge, and that is what I absolutely love about this song.” 

Envy Of None’s self-titled album is due for release on April 8th via Kscope.

Envy Of None track listing:

1. Never Said I Love You
2. Shadow
3. Look Inside
4. Liar
5. Spy House
6. Dog`s Life
7. Kabul Blues
8. Old Strings
9. Dumb
10. Enemy
11. Western Sunset

The album will be released on the following formats and is available to pre-order here.

Ltd Edition deluxe version – presented in a gatefold sleeve with a blue coloured vinyl LP, 2 CDs including a 5 track bonus disc, 28 page Booklet with exclusive content. 

Golden ticket, Envy Of None, in partnership with Epiphone & Gibson Guitars, are giving away an Alex Lifeson Axcess Standard Signature Les Paul guitar to one lucky fan who finds the “golden ticket” in the deluxe edition.

CD – includes a 16 page poster booklet
LP – on black vinyl / baby blue coloured vinyl (North America exclusive) / white coloured vinyl

Envy Of None are:

Alf Annibalini – Guitar, Keyboards, Programming
Andy Curran – Bass Guitar, Synthesized Bass, Programming, Guitar, Background Vocals, Stylophone
Alex Lifeson- Guitar, Mandola, Banjo, Programming
Maiah Wynne – Lead Vocals, Background Vocals, Keyboards

Read more about this project, here.

5 Responses

  1. Hello anybody,
    Just thought I’d be positive with all that’s going down in the world right now, and I have heard these two songs and am looking forward to hearing the rest.
    I know this is not everyone’s cup of tea, but as someone who has listened to countless hours of Rush, NIN, Gary Numan, Type O & other various acts of metal, gothic, new wave, progressive, what ever you want to call it, yeah I look forward to hearing more.
    Bye anybody, and try not to think too much about the hits your wallet is surely taking.

Leave a Reply