Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and Grammy®-winning singer and songwriter Ozzy Osbourne will celebrate the 40thanniversary of his 1981 Diary Of A Madman with an updated digital release that includes a new track: a live version of his Mainstream Rock Top Five hit Flying High Again. At the same time comes news of an exciting collaboration with Dogtown, available this Friday.
The Ozzy X Dogtown collection comes as an homage to Ozzy’s music being the soundtrack to skateboarding for more than 40 years. The collaboration features skateboard decks and clothing with art by Sean Cliver on 200 limited-edition custom paint “Midnight Fade” skateboard decks with a silver metal flake dusting designed by Jim “Red Dog” Muir, manufactured by Paul Schmitt at PS Stix, and hand silk screened by Chicken at Screaming Squeegees on the iconic 80’s Dogtown Stonefish shape. In addition, look for a limited run of T-shirts and pullover hoodies with the Ozzy X Dogtown graphic to also be released. All items are available this Friday (October 29th) at 12:00 Noon (PT). Click here or here to order or for more information.

The Diary Of A Madman special digital re-issue will be available November 5th through all digital platforms. The album is Ozzy’s second studio release and the last album to feature 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Famer guitarist Randy Rhoads. The multi-platinum release (with five million albums sold worldwide) included the number two mainstream Rock track, Flying High Again.

The Diary Of A Madman 40th Anniversary Expanded Digital Edition track list is as follows:

1.  Over the Mountain
2.  Flying High Again
3.  You Can’t Kill Rock and Roll
4.  Believer
5.  Little Dolls
6.  Tonight
7.  S.A.T.O.
8.  Diary of a Madman
9.  Believer (live)*
10. Flying High Again (live)*
*previously unavailable digitally
Image: Ross Halfin
Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

9 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • dcinsc7 on

    Nostalgia is a hell of a marketing scheme. If Bang Tango comes out with a digital anniversary/vinyl box set of “Pyscho Cafe,” I’m turning in my metal card, and I’m just going to start streaming Adele playlists! I can’t keep jumping into the time machine and opening my wallet to get two new live tracks and a demo from a cassette tape I already own from 1988. Ozzy, KISS, Skid Row, Judas Priest… I’m good. I bought your stuff the first time around… sometimes the second and third time, BUT I draw the line at the fourth time!

  • Sandimascharvel on

    Another missed opportunity for releasing unreleased video and audio in the vaults with Randy. Those live tracks are likely from the already released Ozzy Live CD and LP. “Unavailable digitally“ likely means that it wasn’t available as a download before.

    • Rattlehead on

      I love your poster name…..I’ve got two San Dimas made Jackson guitars….a Rhoads and a Kelly.

      Randy Rhoads playing his Jackson Concord was a very successful promo endorsement for Jackson guitars. Without Rhoads, there is no Jackson……

  • Sandimascharvel on

    Also, the original Jet CD and the 1995 CD remaster of Diary are the best sounding.The 2011 remaster, which this is likely sourced from, unfortunately limited the dynamics (loud and soft peaks and valleys) aka brickwalled/flatlined. Don’t even need to mention the 2002 “remaster” with replaced bass and drums.

    That band called Blizzard Of Ozz was magic. Why not release a high resolution version that isn’t brickwalled of both albums? Done right, that would sound amazing.

    Bob Daisley’s book is great btw for those who haven’t read it.

    • Dana on

      Read it, it was great. I read Sarzo’s as well…Too bad my memory stinks-LOL!

  • Charles Clinchot on

    If want digital. I get the cd. Since, I have the cd…hard pass and Ozzy skates? I rather see him perform and it looks like that’s not gonna happen Sharon!!! I broke my hip again..

Leave a Reply