On the heels of the excitement of the recent announcement that west coast metal veterans Metal Church will release From the Vault on April 10th, the band has released a lyric video for the first track from the collection, Dead On The Vine.  Recorded in the summer of 2019, the song started from an idea that began when Mike Howe returned for the XI release. Remaining unfinished from that album, Kurdt and Mike got together to complete the version that is featured in the new lyric video. The lyric video for Dead On The Vine can be seen below.

From The Vault is a special edition compilation album that features 14 previously unreleased tracks from the Mike Howe era, which include four newly recorded studio tracks including a redux of the band’s fan favorite classic Conductor. The remaining tracks are compiled from various recordings in the band’s history and include five tracks from 2018’s Damned if You Do recording sessions, three cover songs and two live tracks Agent Green and Anthem to the Estranged which was recorded at the famous Club Citta, Kawasaki, Japan on the Damned If You Do world tour.

The album is available for pre-order in numerous configurations including a limited edition twenty-two-page comic book via Rat Pak Records here: The comic book. Return of the Fake Healer ( featuring the artwork of mid-west comic book illustrator Andrew Owens), also comes with an additional compilation CD which features a mix of XI and Damned If you Do tracks as well as two previously unreleased mixes of Killing Your Time and Needle & SutureFrom The Vault is also available via all digital retailers and fans that purchase a digital copy will receive an instant download of Dead On The Vine. The digital pre-order can be found here here

Track listing (Deluxe USA version):

New Studio Tracks:

1. Dead on the Vine 
2. For No Reason
3. Conductor [redux]
4. Above the Madness 

B-Side tracks from the Damned If you Do sessions:

5. Mind Thief
6. Tell Lie Vision
7. False Flag
8. Insta Mental
9. 432hz

Cover Songs from From The Vault:

10. Please Don’t Judas Me [Nazareth cover]
11. Green Eyed Lady [Sugarloaf Cover]
12. Black Betty [Ram Jam Cover]

Live tracks From The Vault:

13. Agent Green [Live in Japan]
14. Anthem to The Estranged [Live in Japan]

Bonus tracks:  

15. Killing Your Time (Wizard mix) [digital and comic CD version only]
16. Needle & Suture” (Metal mix) [digital and comic CD version only]
17. The Enemy Mind (XI bonus track) [digital download version only]
18. The Coward (XI bonus track) [digital download version only]

Metal Church is:

Mike Howe – Vocals
Kurdt Vanderhoof – Guitars
Stet Howland – Drums
Steve Unger – Bass
Rick Van Zandt – Guitars

2 Responses

  1. Man I haven`t heard about these guys since the 80’s . Didn’t they start out on the one of the old metal massacre records ? Some good bands started from those albums, those were the

    1. You’re so correct, Ray! Trouble made their debut on Metal Massacre IV. I, too, discovered great bands from those Metal Massacre compilation series…..Steeler, Malice, Armored Saint, Surgical Steel, Warlord, etc….the list is endless!

Leave a Reply