Guitarist John Sykes will reportedly release his first album in seventeen years, Sy-Ops, before the end of 2017.

The tentative track listing for the CD is as follows:

1. Dawning Of A Brand New Day
2. Believe In Yourself
3. My Guitar
4. Out Alive
5. Jammin’
6. Six String Gun
7. Howlin’ N’ Moanin’
8. Slave
9. Who Are You
10. Gates Of Hell

Sykes released samples from this forthcoming release three years ago, and they can be heard, here

The 57-year-old completed the material for the project three years ago. “But then my manager died,” he explained. “With him I lost someone I could really trust. So I put the disc on ice.”

Sykes added that his first album since 2000’s Nuclear Cowboy will live up to his fans’ expectations. “People who like what I did on the 1987 [self-titled album] from Whitesnake and the two studio records from Blue Murder” will be pleased by the new material, he said.

The new album will be released in a digipak format with a full-color six-panel artwork courtesy of David Dees.

The CD reportedly features guest appearances by the following musicians:

* Tony Franklin (The Firm): Bass
* Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction): Bass
* Josh Freese (Weezer, A Perfect Circle, Guns N’ Roses, Devo): Drums
* Jamie Muhoberac (The Aall-American Rejects, Fleetwood Mac, The Rolling Stones): Keyboards

additional source:

5 Responses

  1. I’m thrilled he’s finally releasing the album, but wish the art work wasn’t so amateurish. Hopefully the music makes up for that.

Leave a Reply