Japanese metal band Loundness have released the official music video for the song Tengoku No Tobira (Heaven’s Door). It is taken from the band’s latest studio album, Sunburst, which was released in July outside Japan via earMUSIC. The effort was originally made available in Japan last December. Watch it below.

During a career spanning over 40 years, Loundness built a rich musical foundation with many studio albums, EPs and live albums. With Sunburst, they’ve added another milestone to the great catalogue, their 29th studio album, to be precise.

Sunburst is the first official double studio album in Loundness’ impressive career, making it particularly special as it can be considered a celebration of the band’s rich musical history. The 16 songs represent the classic band sound and style, highly acclaimed by fans and critics alike. Written mostly by original member and guitar wizard Akira Takasaki, the majority of songs are sung in Japanese, representing their appreciation of their origin and roots.

Sunburst was released as a digital album as well as a 2CD digipak edition with an extensive booklet that includes the English translation of all lyrics.

Disc 1:

1. Rising Sun
3. Yamato Damashii
4. Kaso Genjitsu (Virtual Reality)
5. Crazy World
6. Stand Or Fall
7. The Sanzu River
8. Nihon No Kokoro (The Heart Of Japan)

Disc 2:

1. Kagayakeru 80’s (Shining 80’s)
2. Emerald No Umi (Emerald Ocean)
3. Tengoku No Tobira (Heaven’s Door)
4. All Will Be Fine With You
5. Fire In The Sky
6. Hunger For More
7. The Nakigara
8. Wonderland

Loundness has dominated the Japanese heavy metal scene ever since its birth in 1981 with classic albums like Thunder In The East (1985) and Lightning Strikes (1986). Their last studio album, 2018’s Rise To Glory, was highly acclaimed both by the heavy metal maniacs and the critics.

Loudness’ lineup has changed multiple times since 1981, with the current incarnation consisting of three original members — lead singer Minoru Niihara, guitarist Akira Takasaki and bassist Masayoshi Yamashita — along with drummer Masayuki Suzuki, who joined the group in 2009.

Original drummer Munetaka Higuchi died in 2008 after a year-long battle with liver cancer.

4 Responses

  1. I think Loudness is such a great band. I saw them perform at the Country Club in the Los Angeles area in the early 80s. They’re the first Japanese band to be signed to a major record label, and Akira Takasaki is a guitar shredder. Some of their more commercial sounding songs of the mid 80s got MTV play, but I think the band shines more on their earlier, heavier sounding albums, like “Disillusion” or “Law of the Devil’s Land”, which is my favorite album of theirs….

    1. Akira’s guitar solo “Exploder” off the “Disillusion” album is similar, in showcase, to EVH’s “Eruption” guitar solo.

Leave a Reply