It wasn’t always multi-platinum sales and stadium gigs for Dokken There was a first-phase and there were early days, and it is those bold first steps to stardom which are celebrated comprehensively on The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 LP due August 28th through Silver Lining Music.

The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 show the crackle and craft of a hungry young Don Dokken as he embarked upon a journey which started in Southern California and Northern Germany. It is a trek which is testimony to the sheer endeavor and perseverance Don Dokken showed in those few years between 1978 and 1981, starting from when he spent time at a guitar store called Drake’s Music, owned by Drake Levin in Manhattan Beach, California.

A fair selection of the treasure on The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 are from these early European days. Felony carries a thuggish fuzz-coated riff -think early Van Halen in really greasy embroidered denims, while Day After Day showed that Don could pen a radio-slaying ballad.

The writing and creation of The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 are further tribute to enduring early days of struggle in both Germany and L.A., Don would return to L.A. for a spell after those brief European gigs, and he worked with Juan Croucier (Ratt) on material, including perhaps the truest view of Dokken’s then-future Hit And Run, which incredibly did not end up on the eventual Breaking The Chains release. From the sunbaked SoCal hook of Step Into The Light to the furious, fledgling, late-Sunset Strip sound of Back In The StreetsThe Lost Songs: 1978-1981 shows Don in his unfettered early days of balls-out attitude, qualities doubtless forged in the sheer nature of the adventures undertaken in writing, recording and deciding Europe was the place to keep cutting his teeth.

The Lost Songs: 1979-1981 not only shares that magic with the fans, it gives them the final, vital and undeniably missing (until now) early album in the Dokken collection.

Musicians who appear on The Lost Songs: 1978-1981:

Don Dokken – vocals, guitar 
Jon Levin – guitar 
BJ Zampa – drums 
Juan Croucier – bass 

Greg Leon – guitar 
Gary Holland – drums 
Mick Brown – drums 
George Lynch -guitar 
Rustee Allen – bass 
Bill Lordan – drums 
Greg Pecka – drums

The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 track listing:

1.  Step Into the Light 
2. We’re Going Wrong 
3. Day After Day 
4. Rainbows 
5. Felony 
6. No Answer 
7. Back In The Streets 
8. Hit And Run 
9. Broken Heart 
10. Liar 
11. Prisoner

Step Into The Light, the first single from The Lost Songs: 1978-1981, can be streamed below.

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

7 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • elliot goldberg on

    There’s only Juan thing I care about in this post

    • Doug R. on

      Gee, I Juander what that could be?! 😉

    • elliot goldberg on

      Doug R. Thank you for the poetry.

    • Doug R. on

      My pleasure! Making others laugh or smile is what I treasure, and to do that I’d go to any measure! 🙂

  • Donald Pudas on

    Wow. Good song. For something that is that old, it sounds great. Awesome production. I’m interested in hearing the rest.

  • RTunes68 on

    I love press releases!

    “It wasn’t always multi-platinum sales and stadium gigs for Dokken.”


  • Ray Gillen on

    Man I`m going to have to look into my archives. I know I have or used to have a download of Don doing a solo album before Dokken. Not sure who was in the band but a friend of mine had it and actually cleaned up the recording and sent it to me. I`m curious if any or all of these songs are on there. I might have to leave work early to go check the suspense is killing me,lol.

Leave a Reply