Airbourne have released Backseat Boogie, the second single from their forthcoming studio album, Boneshaker.

Frontman Joel O’Keeffe states about Backseat Boogie, “The riff, this is one of those ones where Cobb walked out and said, ‘What are you playing there?’ and I was, ‘Ah, I’m just playing this riff. It’s this riff I had in Australia. It’s got a bit of a vibe. I’m not sure.’ He goes, ‘Aw, man, we gotta do that one,’ and he got behind the drums and picked up Ryan’s drumsticks and said, ‘Oh, man. How does he play with these things? These things are baseball bats,’ and it was just really funny. And Ryan jumped on the kit, and we tracked it right then and there.”

Ryan O’Keeffe adds, “It all happened really fast. The band’s lucky to have had a lot of time rehearsing together and playing together, but we tracked songs before we even thought we tracked them. He’d say, ‘Give it another go if you want, but the one you just did, and here’s the first one you did, and that’s the vibe.”

Listen to Airbourne’s title track, here.

Boneshaker tack listing:

1. Boneshaker
2. Burnout The Nitro
3. This Is Our City
4. Sex to Go
5. Backseat Boogie
6. Blood In The Water
7. She Gives Me Hell
8. Switchblade Angel
9. Weapon of War
10. Rock ‘N’ Roll For Life

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

5 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Doug R. on

    F–KING AWESOME!!! Rock is dead my A–!! Just listen to Airbourne!

  • MikeyMan on

    Pre-ordered the deluxe version with 3 extra live tracks today!

    • Dana on


  • Brian B on

    Good stuff, I agree. Have they gained any traction commercially yet ? ….

  • D.J.H on

    Ridin’ down the highway
    Goin’ to a show
    Stop in all the by-ways
    Playin’ rock ‘n’ roll

    Oh…Sorry – wrong song. :()

Leave a Reply