Ace Frehley has debuted a final song today from his forthcoming covers LP due out later this month. is exclusively debuting “Fire and Water,” the first recording of Frehley and KISS frontman Paul Stanley in nearly two decades. Click here to listen to the song.

Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Ace Frehley will release Origins Vol. 1, a collection of 12 newly recorded classics from Ace’s formative years featuring some of the biggest names in rock and roll, on April 15th, 2016. This collaboration marks the first time that Ace and Paul appear on the same studio recording since KISS’ 1998 reunion album Psycho Circus.

Ace spoke with Rolling Stone about the new record, his guest players and recording with Paul after all these years. Regarding his reunion with Stanley, Frehley shrugs off any residual tension between the two of them. “We’ve always been friends,” he says. “The press seems to amplify negativity. I guess it makes good copy.”

Rolling Stone debuted White Room, a few weeks ago, the classic hit originally performed by Cream. Other guests are none other than Slash trading leads on Thin Lizzy’s classic Emerald, Lita Ford singing and playing lead on The Troggs staple Wild Thing, Rob Zombie guitarist John 5 playing guitar alongside Ace as he sings his classic KISS composition Parasite for the very first time, as well as Jimi Hendrix’s Spanish Castle Magic, and Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready also plays guitar with Ace as he finally sings his KISS Alive!” mainstay Cold Gin. White Room is also an iTunes instant gratification track, meaning fans who pre order the LP on iTunes will receive the Cream cover song instantly.

Origins Vol. 1 is the the follow up to Space Invader, released in 2014. Space Invader was Frehley’s first studio album in five years, and the LP debuted at #9 on the Billboard Top 200 Chart, scoring the highest charting position of any KISS solo album ever, and marked Frehley’s first return to the Top 10 since KISS’ aforementioned 1998’s Psycho Circus in 1998. Space Invader, received high praise from critics.

Origins Vol. 1 track listing:

1. White Room (Cream)
2. Street Fighting Man (Rolling Stones)
3. Spanish Castle Magic (Jimi Hendrix) *John 5
4. Fire and Water (Free) *Paul Stanley
5. Emerald (Thin Lizzy) *Slash
6. Bring It On Home (Led Zeppelin)
7. Wild Thing (The Troggs) *Lita Ford
8. Parasite *John 5 (KISS)
9. Magic Carpet Ride (Steppenwolf)
10. Cold Gin *Mike McCready (KISS)
11. Till The End Of The Day (Kinks)
12. Rock and Roll Hell (KISS)

Pre order physical copy here and the digital copy here.

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

9 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • RTunes68 on

    “Fire and Water” is a killer track. Classic Ace guitar sound, great vocals from Paul, and a great song selection. Between the Soul Station performances and this track, it seems that Paul has figured out how to get his voice back. Maybe it was just a matter of Paul once again singing in the register he did in the 1970s, and not in the glass-shattering register he did in the 1980s.

    As for “we’ve always been friends,” I think it’s a bit self-serving. Every relationship has its ups and downs, but the press and the fans didn’t make up their squabbles. The members of the band made them public. So to now turn around and say, “Oh, we’ve always been buddies. YOU guys made it seem like we were mad at each other,” sounds a bit disingenuous. But hey, their squabbles – real or not – sold books for Paul, made everyone watch the RRHoF induction, and it’s now going to sell Ace’s new album.

    On an unrelated note, this new website seems a bit too cool for its own good. It’s flashy, but it’s not functional. All the news stories are invisible unless you run your mouse over it.

    • robert davenport on

      I’ll comment on the website issue’s first , you’re right almost not worth coming here it has got to get easier to use!
      The fire and water track is really great all around, I’ve always loved that song – Paul sounds amazing better than the last kiss album for sure- , and ace is ace – the drums were pretty basic & the snare was too loud during the solo , but that’s just nitpicking – I hope that the stupid bickering between these guys is now over and done – it’s embarrassing and silly to act like high school when your in your 60’s-
      if ace and Paul read this… really great track guys!

    • Brian B on

      I agree on both the song and the new website.

  • MikeyMan on

    Yeah, can’t see anything on the Main Page!
    Just happened to run my mouse over the blank area and saw the story link at the bottom of my screen. It’s like feeling around in the dark.
    Somebody please get this Site fixed!

  • Stephanie Muue on

    Just got done hearing the single it sounds amazing. I love it.

  • Doug R. on

    That is as good as I’ve heard Paul’s voice in a long time! And Ace? As great as always! So cool to see the Spaceman and the Starchild together again, even if it’s just for this collaboration. Now only if we can get the Catman and the Demon on the same page, maybe we can have a REAL “Rock And Roll Party!” I know, maybe when “Rock And Roll Hell” freezes over. 😉
    Hey you never know, whoever thought GN’R would reunite in this lifetime?

  • Peter michaels on

    It’s cool to see Paul and ace recording a song together life Is to short so that’s a great thing to see rock on!!!

Leave a Reply