Saxon isn’t wasting any time in 2018. Following the critically acclaimed release of Battering Ram in 2015, the heavy metal giants are set to release their latest studio album, Thunderbolt, on February 2nd through Militia Guard label (Silver Lining Music).

“This is album 22 and it’s called Thunderbolt. It’s a Storming Smashing Thundering collection of tracks we’ve been crafting with Producer, Andy Sneap and it’s finished ready to be unleashed. Stand clear and fasten your seat belts!” says Biff Byford

Three weeks later, the band will be embarking on the first leg of the Thunderbolt 2018 European Tour. Saxon will be joined by fellow English rockers Diamond Head and metal trio Rock Goddess will be performing on the scheduled UK dates, with very special guests Magnum on the UK Hull date only.

However, Saxon doesn’t stop there – dates for Thunderbolt Tour Part 2 will be announced in early 2018.

“Ok this is part 1 of the colossal Thunderbolt World tour we’re going to be touring the whole of 2018 so get your tickets and join the ride. It’s gonna be fast and furious, dark and brooding. Monumental riffing and screaming vocals loud and proud it’s going to be a Saxon tour, unique in every way” says Byford.

Since the 1970s Saxon have shown their ability to take rock ‘n’ roll and give it an electrifying edge which has since cemented their status as pioneers of the British heavy metal wave. With over twenty studio albums under their belt, Saxon has made their steadfast dedication to creating a dynamic body of a work a staple of their career.

Thunderbolt Track Listing:

1. Olympus Rising
2. Thunderbolt
3. The Secret of Flight
4. Nosferatu (The Vampires Waltz)
5. They Played Rock and Roll
6. Predator
7. Sons of Odin
8. Sniper
9. A Wizard’s Tale
10. Speed Merchants
11. Roadie’s Song
12. Nosferatu (Raw Version)*
*not available on vinyl

Thunderbolt will be available to pre-order on December 1st in the following formats:

– CD Album in Digipack
– 180 gms coloured vinyl in a Gatefold
– A Special Edition Boxset
– Tape Cassette
– Digital Download

Thunderbolt 2018 European Tour – Part 1:
February 23 – UK, Cardiff University
February 24 – UK, Cambridge Corn Exchange
February 25 – UK, Hull City Hall
February 27 – Holland, Tilburg 013
February 28 – Germany, Saarbruecken Garage

March 1 – Germany, Hannover Capitol
March 2 – Germany, Frankfurt Batschkapp
March 3 – Germany, Dresden Schlachthof

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

2 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Keith G on

    Great to see Saxon still touring and putting out great music. BATTERING RAM was a really good record, so I am looking forward to getting THUNDERBOLT. These guys deserved more success than they have ever received, as they put out great metal music. I’ve only seen them live one time, (opened for Black Sabbath on the HEAVEN AND HELL tour) but I’ve been told that their shows are always a great time.

  • Rattlehead on

    I think this will be a great release. Saxon continues putting out new music, which is awesome, considering they’ve been around since the late 70s birth of the NWOBHM. Saxon is one of the best NWOBHM bands out there that deserve much more success. It would be great to see them with Diamond Head, another great NWOBHM band that should have been more successful on their own merit. But seeing them here in the States with Judas Priest will be great, too!

    “Denim and Leather, brought us all together! It was you that set the spirit free!” \m/

Leave a Reply