BMG, in partnership with Rhino Entertainment, announces Ratt‘s The Atlantic Years Limited Edition Box Set, celebrating the band’s massively successful period where all five of their studio albums were certified Gold, Platinum or Multi-Platinum.  Released on June 9th, the LP set features all five albums remastered on 180g black vinyl, rare Nobody Rides For Free 7” single, 12 page replica tour book (featuring rare and never before seen photos from RATT’s personal archives), 11”x17” Wanted Poster, bumper sticker, replica backstage pass, and guitar pick in a custom lift top box. The CD set features all five of the studio albums in a side loading box. 

All albums feature the classic line up of Stephen Pearcy (vocals), Warren DeMartini (guitars), Robbin Crosby (guitars), Juan Croucier (bass/vocals), and Bobby Blotzer (drums) Formed in Los Angeles, Ratt was featured as an unsigned act on Uncle Joe Benson’s Local Licks Drive Time Show on KLOS-FM.  This was their first time on radio and led to their signing to Atlantic Records. 

Ratt exploded on to the national scene in 1984 with the release of Out Of The Cellar. Featuring an undeniable hook and legendary music video, lead single Round And Round hit #12 on the Billboard Hot 100, while Out Of The Cellar reached #7 on the Billboard Top 200 and was certified triple platinum. Two more charting singles followed with Back For More and Wanted Man” Ratt started the tour as an opening act, but by the end of the tour had climbed to arena headliner.

They returned in 1985 with their second full length album, Invasion Of Your Privacy. Certified double platinum and also reaching #7 on the Billboard Top 200, Invasion of Your Privacy also featured the classics Lay It Down (#40 Billboard Hot 100) and You’re In Love.

Dancing Undercover followed in 1986 as the group toured North America with a brand new LA band called Poison as the opening act. Lead single Dance hit the Billboard Hot 100 and spawned another music video hit with Slip Of The Lip, while Body Talk was featured in a key scene in the Eddie Murphy film, The Golden Child. Dancing Undercover became Ratt’s third consecutive Platinum album and reached #26 on the Billboard Top 200.

1988’s Reach For The Sky saw Ratt return to the Top 20 of the Billboard Top 200 album charts, peaking at #17. Driven by the bluesy hit and MTV favorite Way Cool Jr.Reach For The Sky was also certified Platinum, and became Ratt’s fourth album in a row, to move well over a million copies. I Want A Woman was also a successful single and the video captured the excitement and energy of Ratt live.

They released their last full-length record of the Atlantic era, Detonator, in 1990. Music was changing, but Detonator was still a success, peaking at #23 on the Billboard Top 200 and going Gold. The first album to feature major outside songwriting contributions (Desmond Child, Diane Warren) and guests (Jon Bon Jovi, Michael Schenker). Lead single Lovin’ You’s A Dirty Job hit #18 on the Rock Charts while the power ballad Giving Yourself Away reached #39.

In 1991, they released the single Nobody Rides For Free from the hit film Point Break starring Keanu Reeves and Patrick Swayze, which is exclusive to the LP box. 

Pre-Order this special release here.

Out Of The Cellar (1984):

1.    Wanted Man (Cristofanilli/Crosby/Pearcy)

2.    You’re In Trouble (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby)

3.    Round And Round (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby)

4.    In Your Direction (Pearcy)

5.    She Wants Money (Croucier)

6.    Lack Of Communication (Croucier/Pearcy)

7.    Back For More (Pearcy/Crosby)

8.    The Morning After (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby)

9.    I’m Insane (Crosby)

10. Scene Of The Crime (Crosby/Croucier)

Invasion Of Your Privacy (1985):

1.    You’re In Love (Croucier/Pearcy)

2.    Never Use Love (Pearcy)

3.    Lay It Down (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby/Croucier)

4.    Give It All (Pearcy/Crosby)

5.    Closer To My Heart (Crosby/Pearcy)

6.    Between The Eyes (DeMartini/Pearcy)

7.    What You Give Is What You Get (Croucier)

8.    Got Me On The Line (Crosby/Pearcy)

9.    You Should Know By Now (Crosby/Pearcy/Croucier)

10. Dangerous But Worth The Risk (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)

Dancing Undercover (1986):

1.    Dance (Pearcy/Crosby/DeMartini/Hill)

2.    One Good Lover (Crosby/Pearcy)

3.    Drive Me Crazy (Pearcy/Crosby/DeMartini/Blotzer)

4.    Slip Of The Lip (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)

5.    Body Talk (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)

6.    Looking For Love (Crosby/Pearcy/Croucier)

7.    7th Avenue (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)

8.    It Doesn’t Matter (Croucier/Pearcy)

9.    Take A Chance (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby/Croucier)

10. Enough Is Enough (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby/Croucier)

Reach For The Sky (1988):

1.    City To City (Pearcy/Crosby/DeMartini/Croucier/Hill)

2.    I Want A Woman (Crosby/Pearcy/Croucier/Hill)

3.    Way Cool Jr. (DeMartini/Pearcy/Hill)

4.    Don’t Bite The Hand That Feeds (Pearcy/Crosby/Croucier/Hill)

5.    I Want To Love You Tonight (DeMartini/Crosby/Pearcy)

6.    Chain Reaction (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier)

7.    No Surprise (DeMartini/Pearcy)

8.    Bottom Line (Croucier/Pearcy/DeMartini/Crosby/Hill)

9.    What’s It Gonna Be (Croucier/DeMartini/Crosby/Pearcy/Hill)

10. What I’m After (Croucier/Pearcy)

Detonator (1990):

1.    Intro To Shame (DeMartini)

2.    Shame Shame Shame (DeMartini/Pearcy/Child)

3.    Lovin’ You’s A Dirty Job (DeMartini/Pearcy/Croucier/Child)

4.    Scratch That Itch (Croucier/Pearcy/Child)

5.    One Step Away (Blotzer/Pearcy/DeMartini/Croucier/Child)

6.    Hard Time (DeMartini/Pearcy/Child)

7.    Heads I Win, Tails You Lose (DeMartini/Pearcy/Child)

8.    All Or Nothing (DeMartini/Pearcy/Crosby/Kilgore/Child)

9.    Can’t Wait On Love (Crosby/Croucier/DeMartini/Pearcy/Blotzer/Child)

10. Givin’ Yourself Away (Child/Warren/Pearcy)

11. Top Secret (Pearcy/DeMartini/Child)
“Nobody Rides For Free” – 7” Single – Exclusive to LP box

4 Responses

    1. Not for $199! Lol. I have all 5 of these Atlantic Years releases on cd which all include at least 1 bonus track. I’m good.

Leave a Reply