Mr. Big will release its tenth studio album, Ten, on July 12th through Frontiers Music Srl. The LP features 11 new original tracks written by singer Eric Martin and guitarist Paul Gilbert, along with André Pessis and Tony Fanucchi. In a tribute to their late drummer Pat TorpeyMartinGilbert and bassist Billy Sheehan have enlisted the exceptional talents of Nick D’Virgilio on drums for Ten, which was produced by Jay Ruston and Mr. Big.

In the midst of their final tour — The BIG Finish — Mr. Big, inspired by the legions of fans that shared in their goodbye over the past year, wanted to say a final farewell with the undertaking of a brand-new studio album. Culminating over three decades of musical partnership, MartinGilbert and Sheehan, with the help of D’Virgilio, ignite their spark once more and take a new form with Ten. The first single and accompanying video, Good Luck Trying, is a loud, raw, 1970s blues rocker that pulls influence from Mr. Big‘s earliest musical inspirations.

Martin comments on Ten, “This new album doesn’t copy anything from the nine previous studio records. It’s all new stuff from scratch. This is raw, unadulterated riff rock and blues with all the Mr. Big trimmings.”

Gilbert explains the meaning behind the Good Luck Trying lyrics, “Overall, it’s about being overwhelmed with life and realizing that you won’t win many of the battles, but still fighting to the end. And keeping a sense of humor about it by saying to anyone nearby, ‘Wish me good luck trying.'”

Ten track listing:

1.  Good Luck Trying
2.  I Am You
3.  Right Outta Here
4.  Sunday Morning Kinda Girl
5.  Who We Are
6.  As Good As It Gets
7.  What Were You Thinking
8.  Courageous
9.  Up On You
10. The Frame
11. See No Okapi (instrumental – Japan bonus track)

Mr. Big recently completed the European leg of The BIG Finish, which sees the veteran band performing Mr. Big‘s 1991 album, Lean Into It, in full, along with other cuts from the group’s history.

Leave a Reply