Metallica has confirmed the title and release date of its forthcoming 12th studio album, 72 Seasons, which will be released on April 14th through the band’s own Blackened Recordings. Produced by Greg Fidelman with Metallica’s James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, and clocking in at over 77 minutes, the 12-track 72 Seasons is Metallica’s first full length collection of new material since 2016’s Hardwired…To Self-Destruct. The album will be released in formats including 2LP 140g black vinyl and limited-edition variants, CD and digital.

72 Seasons is heralded by first single Lux Æterna, a short, sharp blast that distills 40 years of Metallica into three and a half minutes. Lux Æterna is available now to stream and download, and as an instant-grat track with all pre-orders of 72 Seasons. The Lux Æterna video, directed by Tim Saccenti, can be seen below.

Says Metallica about the clip, “We recently traveled to Los Angeles to capture our performance using some crazy cutting-edge technology.”

Speaking on the concept of the album title, Hetfield says, “72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry.”

72 Seasons track list:

1.  72 Seasons
2.  Shadows Follow
3.  Screaming Suicide
4.  Sleepwalk My Life Away
5.  You Must Burn!
6.  Lux Æterna
7.  Crown Of Barbed Wire
8.  Chasing Light
9.  If Darkness Had A Son
10. Too Far Gone?
11. Room Of Mirrors
12. Inamorata

Says Metallica, “The album package was once again conceived and art directed by our good friend, acclaimed designer David Turner and his team. David, who won a Grammy for his work on Death Magnetic, is the man behind the look and feel of all of our recent releases, including Through The NeverS&M2, and Hardwired.”

12 Responses

  1. RTunes, I sense you’re being sarcastic, but I agree 100% with your comments…..and it truly is Lars’ fault…..he ruined Metallica, Napster, Lulu, Some Kind Of Monster, Orion Festivals….and climate change.

    1. Every time I hear, or read, Lulu all I can think of, is Ed Norton from The Honeymooners-LOL!

      I am not a fan of Lou Reed to begin with, and I cannot stand his style of talk “singing.” So, I never heard a note of that record, and I did not have to, to know it was a colossal mistake.

  2. yeah, I don’t hear a great song from the start but I have loved everything these guys have put out except St. Anger which Lars seemed to be out to lunch from the rest of the band. Load and reload
    classic masterpieces!!

  3. Dana, awesome! LULUUUU!!! Ed Norton lol, my favorite show of all time. Everything came after Lucy and The Honeymooners. Oh and I dig the new Metallica song, best thing by them in a very long time. Heavy, yet hooky. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply