Led Zeppelin was at the peak of its powers on July 27TH-29TH 1973 when the band’s performances at New York’s Madison Square Garden were recorded for the concert film, The Song Remains The Same. The soundtrack to the film, produced by Jimmy Page, was originally released on Swan Song in 1976.

The band continues revisiting their live canon with a new edition of the soundtrack to The Song Remains The Same that features newly remastered audio. Available today worldwide, this release follows the recent reissue of their live album How The West Was Won, and rounds out the deluxe reissue series of their classic albums that began in 2014, building to the band’s 50th anniversary celebration slated to commence later this year. Coincidentally, John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, and Robert Plant played their first live show together, under the moniker “The New Yardbirds” at the time, 50 years ago today, on September 7, 1968.

The Song Remains The Same is available in multiple formats from Atlantic/Swan Song, including the full album’s debut in hi-res 5.1 surround sound on Blu-ray. The Super Deluxe Boxed Set is the most exquisite and elaborate release in the reissue series, recreating the intricate embossing of the set’s original issue and will also mark the first time the full length film and soundtrack have been available in the same package. On the 4-LP set, Page made a change to the track sequence, allowing the epic, 29-minute version of “Dazed And Confused” to be featuring in its entirety on one side of vinyl for the first time.

• CD – Remastered audio on two CDs, plus 24-page booklet.
• Vinyl – Remastered audio on four 180-gram vinyl LPs, plus 28-page booklet.
• Blu-Ray Audio – 96kHz/24 bit 5.1 (DTS-HD Master Audio Surround) and stereo mixes
(PCM Stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio Stereo). Video performances of four songs not in
the original film: Celebration Day, Over The Hills And Far Away, Misty Mountain
, and The Ocean. (All with 5.1 audio)
• Streaming & Digital Download – Remastered audio.
• Super Deluxe Boxed Set
o Remastered audio on two CDs and four 180-gram vinyl LPs.
o Two DVD set of the The Song Remains The Same featuring the full theatrical
version of the film plus bonus content including four performance outtakes that
were not part of the original film: Celebration Day, Over The Hills And Far
, Misty Mountain Hop, and The Ocean.
o DVD of the entire album in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround and PCM Stereo, plus
photo gallery.
o High-def download card of all stereo audio content at 96kHz/24 bit.
o A 28-page book featuring band photos and stills from the film and an essay by
Cameron Crowe.
o A replica of the Japanese program from 1977, previously available only when the
film first toured cinemas in that country.
o High-quality print of the original album cover, the first 30,000 of which will be
individually numbered.

The Song Remains The Same Soundtrack:

CD And Digital Track Listing:

1. Rock And Roll
2. Celebration Day
3. Black Dog
4. Over The Hills And Far Away
5. Misty Mountain Hop
6. Since I’ve Been Loving You
7. No Quarter
8. The Song Remains The Same
9. The Rain Song
10. The Ocean
11. Dazed And Confused
12. Stairway To Heaven”
13. Moby Dick
14. Heartbreaker
15. Whole Lotta Love

LP Track Listing:

LP One:

1. Rock And Roll
2. Celebration Day
3. Black Dog
4. Over The Hills And Far Away
5. Misty Mountain Hop
6. Since I’ve Been Loving You
7. The Ocean

LP Two:

1. The Song Remains The Same
2. The Rain Song
3. No Quarter

LP Three:

1. Dazed And Confused
2. Moby Dick

LP Four:

1. Stairway To Heaven
2. Heartbreaker
3. Whole Lotta Love

The Song Remains The Same is the soundtrack to the legendary concert film of the same name, which was released in 1976. The performances in the film were recorded July 27-29, 1973 at Madison Square Garden during the band’s tour for its then-current studio album, Houses Of The Holy. The two-CD and four-LP collections are packed with electrifying live versions of Zep classics like Rock and Roll, Stairway To Heaven, No Quarter, Moby Dick, Dazed And Confused, and Celebration Day.

4 Responses

    1. This was a PR release sent out, and they never included a link. I assume, you can go to any online retailer and order a copy.

Leave a Reply