Acclaimed King’s X guitarist, songwriter, and co-vocalist Ty Tabor has today announced his latest solo album, Shades, out on March 4th through Rat Pak Records. The upcoming 11th solo album features 10 brand new songs with three bonus tracks and follows the successful release of 2018’s Alien BeansShades is available for preorder in various configurations including CD, vinyl and digital download at the link here.
“When it comes to what I write for solo material, I don’t really think about bands or anything like that. These new songs explore different sides of life and death,” Ty explains. “I was dealing with the recent loss of my dad when some of this was written.  There are lighter moments mixed in to keep it from being too focused on loss or sadness.  I also resurrected a couple of old ideas that weren’t ready until now. I just write music that makes me happy, and I’ve ended up with an album I really love.”
From the opening chords of Come Home, it is clear that Ty Tabor’s trademark guitar tone lays the bedrock for his latest solo release Shades. Ty tackles a wide array of emotions and topics with layered harmonies, hooky pop sensibilities, and the total riffage that remains a crucial ingredient to the King’s X sound. Songs like What You’re Thinking, One Drop of Water, and Doesn’t Linger show Ty’s penchant for crafting tunes with tremendous melodies, while songs like Shallow, and Your Fantasy, trend heavy and exemplify why Ty is one of the most influential guitarists of the last three decades. 
Shades Tracklist:

1 Come Home
2 Shallow
3 Your Fantasy
4 What You’re Thinking
5 Sister Genocide
6 Best Day in a While
7 Insane
8 One Drop of Water
9 Doesn’t Linger
10 Leaves Falling Down
11 Ashes – (Bonus Track) [CD & Digital Download only]
12 Political Nonsense – (Bonus Track) [CD & Digital Download only
13 Ashes (Acoustic) – (Bonus Track) [CD & Digital Download only]

3 Responses

  1. This pisses me off. Been waiting for a new King’s X album for over a decade. It’s done and they keep holding off releasing it because of the pandemic saying they want to do it the right way. Yet Dug, KXM, Grinder Blues and now Ty have all released albums recently. This makes no sense and as a long time fan of King’s X, I think it’s ridiculous that they aren’t releasing their new album! Man I’m ticked!

Leave a Reply