Legendary English guitarist John Sykes (Tygers Of Pan Tang, Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake, Blue Murder) will release his first album in 19 years later this year through Golden Robot Records. The as-yet-untitled disc (its previously announced title of Sy-Ops” has now apparently been scrapped) is expected to include such tracks as Dawning Of A Brand New DayBelieve In Yourself, My Guitar and Out Alive.

The 59-year-old completed the material for the album nearly five years ago. “But then my manager died,” he explained. “With him I lost someone I could really trust. So I put the disc on ice.”

Sykes added that his first album since 2000’s Nuclear Cowboy will live up to his fans’ expectations. “People who like what I did on the 1987 [self-titled album] from WHITESNAKEand the two studio records from BLUE MURDER” will be pleased by the new material, he said.

The CD will reportedly features guest appearances by the following musicians:

* Josh Freese (Weezer, A Perfect Circle, Guns N’ Roses, Devo): Drums 
* Tony Franklin (The Firm): Bass 
* Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction): Bass 
* Jamie Muhoberac (The All-American Rejects, Fleetwood Mac The Rolling Stones): Keyboards

John recently played on a Gary Moore tribute album, on the song, Still Got The Blues (For You), which can be heard, here.

additional source:

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

22 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Ray Gillen on

    Guy must be set for life financially since he hasn`t made any music in quite sometime. This album is turning out to be like chinese democracy as far as how long its taking to release it. I hope it does come out this year and he backs it up with a tour. He`s one of the few I haven`t seen live dammit,lol.

    • Dana on

      Yes, he lives very comfortably off the royalties of the ’87 Whitesnake album. I am thrilled for him, as he is great songwriter, but as uber fan, very frustrating.

  • Harold Taint on

    I know that Dana is super excited about this one.

    • Dana on

      Lovely to see you 🙂

      D 🙂

  • robert davenport on

    this is one i’m looking forward too-

    • Doug R. on

      As am I, Robert, – for the last 19 years… And counting! 😉

  • Charles Clinchot on

    Here I go again, hoping that promised and awaited [music] comes out. Come on John, don’t leave me cryin’ in the rain.

    • Charles Clinchot on

      Thanks for the fix Dana that day was a long day, not a day typing on IPhone

    • Dana on

      No worries, you always have my back, so I have yours.

  • Rattlehead on

    I’m looking forward to hearing John’s playing when Tygers of Pan Tang re release their “Spellbound” album, complete with live tracks later next month. At least I have confidence that album will be released! :o)

Leave a Reply