Alice Cooper has released a lyric video for Detroit City 2020, the opening song of his new Breadcrumbs EP, which will be released on September 13th through earMUSIC. Check it out below.

The Breadcrumbs EP is Alice Cooper’s tribute to the garage rock heroes from his former hometown, Detroit. The EP features six brand new recordings and is available on digital and as limited and numbered 10-inch vinyl — with only 20,000 copies worldwide — sold at very special price.

Joining Cooper on the recordings are MC5’s Wayne Kramer, jazz singer Paul Randolph, former Grand Funk Railroad member Mark Farner, ex-Detriot Wheels drummer Johnny “Bee” Badanjek and Mick Collins.

The EP includes covers of Bob Seger’s 1966 single East Side Story, MC5’s Sister Anne, Suzi Quatro’s Your Mamma Won’t Like Me and Mitch Ryder And The Detroit Wheels’ Devil With A Blue Dress.

Cooper’s next full-length album is due in 2020.

Breadcrumbs track listing:

1. Detroit City 2020 
2. Go Man Go 
3. East Side Story 
4. Your Mama Won’t Like Me 
5. Devil With A Blue Dress / Chains Of Love 
6. Sister Anne 

6 Responses

  1. This sounds an a lot like a track from one of his more recent albums. Pretty sure it was The Eyes of Alice Cooper record in 2003. Forgot the name of the song, but this seems similar, especially the lyrics.

    1. You’re absolutely right, Rob! “Detroit City” is from The Eyes Of Alice Cooper released in 2003. But for this release, Alice changed up some of the lyrics, and IMO the new lyrics are even better, and make the song much better! Cheers! 🙂

    2. Thanks for clarifying Doug. I knew I heard something like this before, actually that whole Eyes of Alice Cooper album was pretty decent and fit in well with the rock that was out when it was released while still being an Alice Cooper album.

  2. Alice – if you do not change the name of this song – we will have to sue you for the title is too close to our infamous song Detroit Rock City…You understand its just business…Love you… Gene Simmons/Paul Stanley

Leave a Reply